Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


'Martin Barre - Live In NY: Special Edition'
(Martin Barre / DVD+2CD / NR / 2019 / Purple Pyramid - MVD Visual)

Overview: Martin Barre, best-known as guitarist in Jethro Tull - one of the biggest selling prog bands of all time - brings his famous guitar chops to the Big Apple in this rare concert capturing his solo band live as they rock thru the classic hits that earned him a reputation as one of the signature axemen of his era.

This Deluxe Collector's Edition contains a Concert DVD coupled with two Audio CDs of the entire concert, packaged in a gorgeous eight-panel digipak.

DVD Verdict: Containing a wondrous live performance captured in 2016 that takes the listener on a journey through highlights of both Jethro Tull's catalog - such as 'Thick As A Brick,' 'Locomotive Breath' and 'Skating Away' - plus songs from Barre's spectacular solo albums, Live In NY is a quite magnificent DVD+2CD package, that's for darn sure!

1. 'Hammer'
2. 'To Cry You A Song'
3. 'Minstrel In The Gallery'
4. 'Steal Your Heart Away'
5. 'Back To Steel'
6. 'Love Story'
7. 'Misere'
8. 'Eleanor Rigby'
9. 'Sweet Dream'
10. 'Rock Me Baby'
11. 'Thick As A Brick'
12. 'Blackest Eyes'
13. 'Skating Away (On The Thin Ice of a New Day)'
14. 'Crossroads'
15. 'Martin's Jig'
16. 'Hymn 43'
17. 'Bad Man'
18. 'A Song For Jeffrey'
19. 'Moment of Madness'
20. 'Teacher'
21. 'Fatman'
22. 'A New Day Yesterday'
23. 'Locomotive Breath'

Playing on a small stage, lit for the most part by blue and purple spots, Barre and his band bring forth one of the most rivetingly enjoyable live shows that I've seen in many a year.

The show opens with a brilliant, forthright 'Hammer' and then bleeds seamlessly into both 'To Cry You A Song' and the bass-led beauty 'Minstrel In The Gallery.'

The slow poke musical drawl of 'Steal Your Heart Away' is followed by 'Back To Steel,' the mid-tempo storytelling of 'Love Story,' the guitar lushness of 'Misere,' and then comes Barre's rendition of The Beatles' 'Eleanor Rigby.'

The guitar rock of 'Sweet Dream' is another fan favorite and is backed by the low-key blues vibe of 'Rock Me Baby,' a near-ten minute version of 'Thick As A Brick,' and the first CD rounds out with the thunderous 'Blackest Eyes.'

Now midway through the concert and the second CD opens with the melodic bounce of 'Skating Away (On The Thin Ice of a New Day),' the mandolin-led duo of 'Crossroads' and 'Martin's Jig / Hymn 43,' and then comes the warbling blues funk of 'Bad Man' and the low key brilliance of 'A Song For Jeffrey.'

The frenetic 'Moment of Madness' is another rich delight to behold and is followed by the drum-led 'Teacher,' the screamingly-energetic 'Fatman,' and then comes to a close with 'A New Day Yesterday,' and then rounds out on yet another musical high with a powerful 'Locomotive Breath.'

FYI: A superb live album from Jethro Tull guitarist, Martin Barre, sees its first ever vinyl release in a gorgeous 2LP gatefold jacket RED vinyl!

Official Purchase Link

'Martin Barre - Live In NYC' Official Trailer