Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Cherry Pop

Title - Visitors from Another Planet
Artist - Mark Murdoch

For those unaware, Mark Murdock’s new prog release Visitors From Another Planet features a cast of visiting prog earthlings like drummer Ric Parnell of Atomic Rooster/Spinal Tap, drummer Ron Howden, bassist Derek ‘Mo’ Moore, both from the band Nektar, also drummer Alan Childs of David Bowie, guitarist Fernando Perdomo, guitarist Katsumi Yoneda of French TV, guitarist Joe Berger, vocalist Tim Pepper of TheId and more!

Mark Murdock, best known as the drummer in Peter Banks (YES) Empire Mark lll, The New Empire with Fernando Perdomo, Cymbalic Encounters with Brand X members.

Mark most recently released a solo record, The Phoenix Has Risen and with Nuclear Bird’s Tyrannical Megalomanic. Mark sees his new creation Visitors from Another Planet as a “further contribution to the Arts with new dimensions and atmospheres not explored on my previous works.”

1. Visitors from Another Planet
2. Time Travelers from the Future
3. The Purveyors of Underworld Ideas
4. The Tarnished Mirror
5. False Algorithms
6. Forgotten Episodes
7. The River of Illusion
8. Somewhere and Nowhere
9. Adapted for Theater
10. Sub-Reactional Stratospheric Complex
11. Friction
12. Shadows that Stood Between the Lies
13. In Speculation

This quite mesmerizingly translucent new album from the uber-talented Mark Murdoch opens on the sensitized ambiance of Visitors from Another Planet and the funky grooves of Time Travelers from the Future and backs those up seamlessly with the gently fervent The Purveyors of Underworld Ideas, the lush balladry of The Tarnished Mirror, the spikey, scattered synth work of False Algorithms, the glorious ‘80s rhythms of Forgotten Episodes and then comes the Peter Gabriel re: Genesis-esque The River of Illusion.

Up next is the triumphantly melodic Somewhere and Nowhere and the mid-tempo AOR of Adapted for Theater and they are in turn followed by the simply euphoric guitar work found within Sub-Reactional Stratospheric Complex, the album rounding out on the quiet rock of Friction, the lushly free flowing Shadows that Stood Between the Lies, closing on the more Peter Gabriel re: Genesis-esque vibes of In Speculation. [FYI: The Digital album features the Bonus Track of The Truth is Out There].

Mark Murdock - drums, synthesizer & gongs
Tim Pepper - lead vocal
Ric Parnell - drums & percussion on 2, 4 & 13
Alan Childs - drums on 3
Ron Howden - drums on 6 & 7
Fernando Perdomo - guitar on 1, 4, 7, 9 & 11
Derek ‘Mo’ Moore - bass on 7
Joe Berger - lead guitar on 11 & alien voice on 1
Katsumi Yoneda - guitar on 5, 6, 9 &13
Dave Juteau - guitar on 1, 2, 8 & 12
Preston Murdock - guitar on 3 and 7
Kenta Shimokuni – bass
Rod Farlora - bass on 10
Jeff Curry - bass on songs 2, 3, 6, 8 & 12

Visitors from Another Planet - Promotional Sample Video

Official Digital Purchase Link

Official CD Purchase Link