Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - Elektra Years [1990-1992] (2CD)
Artist - Lynch Mob

Lynch Mob were originally formed by lead guitarist George Lynch and drummer Mick Brown in 1989 after creative differences led to the break up of their previous band, Dokken.

Having missed out on the opportunity to play lead guitar with a newly solo Ozzy Osbourne, Lynch truly made his mark on the rock metal scene of the 1980s with Dokken.

After some initial success in Germany, they relocated to Los Angles in time to take full advantage of the then new MTV music channel and the burgeoning hair metal scene the Sunset Strip, populated by contemporaries such as Ratt and Motley Crue.

Dokken’s split came follow their fourth studio album, Back For The Attack.

Featuring Lynch on lead guitar, and Brown on drums, the line-up for Lynch Mob’s debut Wicked Sensation was completed by bassist Anthony Esposito and singer Oni Logan.

Released in 1990, Wicked Sensation was co-produced by the band with Max Norman, famed for his work with Ozzy Osbourne, am many others.

The album features the singles River Of Love and No Bed Of Roses, with this edition now including the radio edit of the title track. The album was awarded gold sales status in the States.

Disc One: Wicked Sensation (1990)
1. Wicked Sensation
2. River Of Love
3. Sweet Sister Mercy
4. All I Want
5. Hell Child
6. She’s Evil But She’s Mine
7. Dance Of The Dogs
8. Rain
9. No Bed Of Roses
10. Through These Eyes
11. For A Million Years
12. Street Fightin’ Man
13. Wicked Sensation (Edit) [Bonus Track]

For my money, had it been released a few years earlier, Lynch Mob’s solid debut would have probably sold by the truckload. With the L.A. hard rock scene on the verge of annihilation at the hands of Seattle, however, 1990’s Wicked Sensation went largely unnoticed.

Capable singer Oni Logan quickly proves his mettle, complementing a veteran lineup featuring half of the ’80s mainstay Dokken, in guitarist George Lynch and drummer Mick Brown.

Lynch’s guitar absolutely sizzles on the title track, and the gang chorus of Sweet Sister Mercy would have guaranteed a massive hit single in a different musical climate.

Other standouts such as River of Love, Hell Child, and Rain find the band locking on to a powerful groove, and though it hardly breaks new ground, this remains a rather overlooked album.

The musicianship is impeccable (especially on Street Fightin’ Man), and certainly Anthony Esposito’s post-Lynch Mob discography has proved his worth.

George had the opportunity to shred as he hadn’t before, exploring different tones in his solos and rhythms and thus as much as it is not a so-called “guitar album”, nor are there any instrumentals, it is heavy on the guitars throughout.

Although their second album didn’t fare quite so impressively, with their brand of commercial hard rock losing favor to grunge, the album was critically well received.

Produced by famed producer Keith Olse (Fleetwood Mac, Whitesnake, Heart), the eponymous Lynch Mob hit the racks in 1992.

Now featuring Robert Mason on lead vocals, replacing Oni Logan, among this collection of original songs, including the singles Tangled In The Web and Dream Until Tomorrow, is a solid cover of Queen’s Tie Your Mother Down, written by Brian May.

Japan had always been a popular stronghold for Dokken, an aspect that Lynch Mob were primed to take full advantage of, releasing a special edition of their second record featured two exclusive bonus tracks for Japan, Love Finds A Way and Love In Your Eyes, both of which are included here.

Disc Two: Lynch Mob (1992)
1. Jungle Of Love
2. Tangled In The Web
3. No Good
4. Dream Until Tomorrow
5. Cold Is The Heart
6. Tie Your Mother Down
7. Heaven Is Waiting
8. I Want It
9. When Darkness Calls
10. The Secret
11. Love Finds A Way [Bonus Japan Track]
12. Love In Your Eyes [Bonus Japan Track]

In truth, guitarist George Lynch delivered a typically impressive set of solos on the Lynch Mob’s second album. While most of the songs vacillates between slick hard rock and radio-ready power ballads, the material is professionally performed, particularly on the part of Lynch.

Dedicated fans will be delighted with his playing throughout the record, although casual hard rock fans will find the album less compelling, since most of the songs sound underdeveloped, lacking memorable melodies or hooks.

No Good burns, which blends into the six-minute groove of Dream Until Tomorrow and the icy Cold Is The Heart totally rips. Robert Mason’s vocal workout is epic on the soaring Heaven Is Waiting, I Want It is a hard rockin’ track that is driven behind a killer riff, with the lengthy duo of When Darkness Calls and The Secret competently bringing Lynch Mob to a conclusion.

For the record, The Secret may be buried deep in the running order, but man, the impassioned track definitely deserves immediate attention.

Lynch Mob would split shortly after their second album, but have regularly reformed for new recordings and tours, with their most recent release a 30th Anniversary Reimagined edition of their debut.

Official 2CD Purchase Link