Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Show Me The Way: The Columbia Anthology'
Artist - Regina Belle

For those not in the know, Regina Belle is an American singer–songwriter and actress who first started her career in the mid–1980s.

Known for her singles, 'Baby Come to Me' (1989) and 'Make It Like It Was' (1990), Belle is actually most notable for two hit duets, both with Peabo Bryson.

The first was 'Without You', the love theme from the comedy film Leonard Part 6, recorded in 1987, the other 'A Whole New World', the main theme of the Disney's animated feature film Aladdin, recorded in 1992; with which Belle and Bryson won a Grammy Award.

Indeed, and furthermore, the theme song 'Far Longer Than Forever' from the animated movie The Swan Princess, performed with Jeffrey Osborne was nominated for a Golden Globe in 1995 for Best Original Song.

SoulMusic Records via Cherry Red Records UK is now readying themselves to bring out this February 22nd, 2019 Show Me The Way: The Columbia Anthology, a 29-track retrospective drawn from the four albums recorded by award-winning songstress Belle between 1987-1995.

This anthology features the original album versions of ten of Belle's US charted singles including the classics, 'So Many Tears', 'Show Me The Way', 'This Is Love', 'If I Could' and her two #1 US R&B hits, 'Baby Come To Me' and 'Make It Like It Was.'

The 2CD collection also features the UK/European-only charted single 'Good Lovin' as well as duets with James "JT" Taylor ('All I Want Is Forever'), Johnny Mathis ('Better Together') and Peabo Bryson ('I Can't Imagine'). It also contains a 1987 "Cool Mix" of 'So Many Tears'.

Prime tracks from Belle's 1987 All By Myself debut LP, her two certified gold albums - 1989's Stay With Me and 1993's Passion - and her final Columbia set, 1995'S Reachin' Back selected for this anthology showcase her vocal prowess and dexterity as a stellar lyrical interpreter on a diversity of material.

CD 1:
1. 'You Got the Love' (Remix)
2. 'Gotta Give It Up'
3. 'Good Lovin''
4. 'How Could You Do It to Me' (Remix)
5. 'Show Me the Way'
6. 'Please Be Mine'
7. 'After the Love Has Lost It's Shine'
8. 'Baby Come to Me'
9. 'Intimate Relations'
10. 'This Is Love'
11. 'All I Want Is Forever' (James "JT" Taylor & Regina Belle)
12. 'Make It Like It Was'
13. 'It Doesn't Hurt Anymore'
14. 'What Goes Around'
15. 'So Many Tears'

We begin this seductive musical journey with the wonderfully funky dancefloor beauty 'You Got The love' (Remix), a track that fairly bounces out of the speakers into your heads, hearts and feet! The finger-snappin' gem 'Gotta Give It Up' is next and is backed by both the funk of 'Good Lovin' and the slow roll of 'How Could You Do It to Me.'

The mid tempo ballad 'Show Me The Way' is followed seamlessly by the saxophone ballad 'Please Be Mine' and then the first forthright ballad 'After the Love Has Lost It's Shine.' Then comes the seductive Baby Come To Me,' the wonderful hipsway of 'Intimate Relations,' before we get one of the obvious stand out cuts, the powerful R&B duet with James "JT" Taylor on 'All I Want Is Forever.'

A trio of ballads - 'Make It Like It Was,' 'It Doesn't Hurt Anymore' and 'What Goes Around - together with the closer, the slow R&B groove of 'So Many Tears' then proceed to round out the first disc perfectly.

CD 2:
1. 'Do You Wanna Get Serious'
2. 'Interlude/Passion'
3. 'Quiet Time'
4. 'Love'
5. 'Someday We'll All Be Free/Save the Children'
6. 'If I Could'
7. 'Dream in Color'
8. 'Better Together' - with Johnny Mathis
9. 'Could It Be I'm Falling in Love'
10. 'Love T.K.O'
11. 'I'll Be Around'
12. 'You Make Me Feel Brand New'
13. 'I Can't Imagine' - Peabo Bryson (Feat. Regina Belle)
14. 'So Many Tears' (Cool Mix)

The second disc opens with the mid tempo ballad 'Do You Wanna Get Serious,' which is followed by the brilliant vibe of 'Interlude/Passion' and then the Barry White "intro'd" 'Quite Time.'

The beautiful ballads 'Love,' 'Someday We'll All Be Free/Save the Children,' 'If I Could,' and the stand out cut (in my humble opinion) 'Dream In Color' are next and then comes another duet, this time with Johnny Mathis on 'Better Together.'

The joyous fun of The Spinners cover 'Could It Be I'm Falling in Love' is then backed by the Teddy Pendergrass cover 'Love T.K.O.,' and then another Spinners cut in 'I'll Be Around.'

A sultry cover of The Stylistics' 'You Make Me Feel Brand New' is always wonderful to hear and that's followed by her ballad duet with Peabo Bryson 'I Can't Imagine.' The second disc then rounds out with another version (the Cool Mix) of 'So Many Tears.'

Liner notes by renowned US writer Kevin Goins include quotes from producers Nick Martinelli, Narada Michael Walden and Barry Eastmond among others.

2CD Purchase Link

Regina Belle @ Facebook