Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Cherry Pop

Title - 'To Everyone in All the World: A Celebration ...'
Artist - John McCutcheon

For those not in the know, John McCutcheon is an American folk music singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist who has produced 40 albums to date since the 1970s.

Indeed, he is regarded as a master of the hammered dulcimer, and is also proficient on many other instruments including guitar, banjo, autoharp, mountain dulcimer, fiddle, and jawharp.

This prolific folk instrumentalist and singer has now brought out a brand new album, dedicated to someone still so firmly bonded within him, both musically and spiritually: Pete Seeger.

Pete Seeger introduced America to itself, one song at a time. Whether it was "Erie Canal" or "If I Had a Hammer," he told us about ourselves and helped us imagine who we might become.

Hence, this wonderful tribute album to the man who would have turned 100, To Everyone in All the World: A Celebration of Pete Seeger (out January 11th, 2019) is all part of McCutcheon's plan to celebrate Seeger's 100th birthday with a recording of some of the songs that moved him the most during his long years as one of his many students, colleagues, and friends.

1. "Well May the World Go" (Pete Seeger) (3:11) - with Hot Rize & Stuart Duncan
2. "If I Had a Hammer" (Pete Seeger & Lee Hays) (4:13) - with members of Beausoleil avec Michael Doucet
3. "God Bless the Grass" (Melvina Reynolds) (3:16)
4. "Die Gedanken Sind Frie" (Arthur Kevess & Hoffmann von Fallersleben) (2:46) with Finest Kind
5. "Guantanamera" (Jose Martí, Julian Orbon, Hector Angulo and Pete Seeger) (4:08) with Katia Cardenal
6. "Sailing Down My Golden River" (Pete Seeger) (3:30) with Suzy Bogguss
7. "Letter to Eve" (Pete Seeger) (5:16)
8. "Mrs. Clara Sullivan’s Letter" (Melvina Reynolds & Pete Seeger) (4:49)
9. "Living in the Country" (Pete Seeger) (2:54) with Stuart Duncan
10. "Talking Union" (Pete Seeger, Lee Hays, & Millard Lampell) (5:09) with Corey Harris
11. "To Everyone in All the World" (Pete Seeger) (1:57) with Tim O’Brien & Stuart Duncan
12. "Turn, Turn, Turn" (Pete Seeger) (3:51) with The Steel Wheels
13. "The Spider’s Web" (EB White & Pete Seeger) (1:31)
14. "Waist Deep in the Big Muddy" (Pete Seeger) (3:31)
15. "How Can I Keep from Singing?" (trad.) (3:09)

“This is an album I’ve been waiting over fifty years to make!” said folk music stalwart, John McCutcheon, of this, his fortieth recording.

In this wide-ranging tribute to the music of his friend and mentor Pete Seeger, McCutcheon draws from an amazing swath of the folk music world: the bluegrass of Hot Rize, the Cajun soul of Beausoleil, the stunning harmonies of Canada’s Finest Kind, the lush alto of Nicaragua’s Katia Cardenal, blues great Corey Harris, fiddle wizard Stuart Duncan, and country music’s Suzy Bogguss.

McCutcheon’s inventive arrangements and familiar ease with the material showcase the spectrum of music left us by the iconic Seeger just perfectly. Beginning with the upbeat banjo picking and light fiddle work of "Well May the World Go", that bleeds seamlessly into the delightful "If I Had a Hammer," the sterner "God Bless the Grass," and then both beautifully breezy "Die Gedanken Sind Frie" and the Latin hipsway of "Guantanamera."

The lovely ballad "Sailing Down My Golden River" (with Suzy Bogguss) is just such a genuine delight to behold and is followed by the late night jazz club, finger-snappin' appeal of "Letter to Eve." The sprightly storytelling of "Mrs. Clara Sullivan’s Letter" is backed by the folk richness of both "Living in the Country" and then the gentle rap/rock vibe of 'Talking Union.'

The title track, "To Everyone in All the World" is then followed by the delicate piano work of "Turn, Turn, Turn," which in turn (sorry, couldn't stop myself) is backed by the dulcet "The Spider's Web."

The album then rounds out with some more spirited, imaginative folk-rock arrangements found within "Waist Deep in the Big Muddy" with the storytelling of the traditional "How Can I Keep from Singing?" thereafter.