Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Cherry Pop

Title - 'Come Stay With Me - The UK 45s 1964-1969'
Artist - Marianne Faithfull

For those not in the know, Marianne Faithfull is an English singer, songwriter and actress. She achieved popularity in the 1960s with the release of her hit single "As Tears Go By" and became one of the lead female artists during the British Invasion in the United States.

Born in Hampstead, London, Faithfull began her career in 1964 after attending a Rolling Stones party where she was discovered by Andrew Loog Oldham.

After the release of her hit single "As Tears Go By", she became an international star. Her debut album Marianne Faithfull (1965) (released simultaneously with her album Come My Way) was a commercial success followed by a number of albums on Decca Records.

From 1966 to 1970, she had a highly publicized romantic relationship with Mick Jagger. Her popularity was further enhanced by her film roles, such as I'll Never Forget What's'isname (1967), The Girl on a Motorcycle (1968), and Hamlet (1969).

However, her popularity was overshadowed by personal problems in the 1970s. During that time she was anorexic, alcoholic and a heroin addict.

Noted for her distinctive voice, Faithfull's previously melodic and higher registered vocals (which were prevalent throughout her career in the 1960s) were affected by severe laryngitis, coupled with persistent drug abuse during the 1970s, permanently altering her voice, leaving it raspy, cracked and lower in pitch.

This new sound was praised as "whisky soaked" by some critics for helping capture the raw emotions expressed in her music.

After a long commercial absence, Faithfull made a comeback with the 1979 release of her critically acclaimed album Broken English. The album was a commercial success and marked a resurgence of her musical career.

Broken English earned Faithfull a nomination for Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance and is often regarded as her "definitive recording."

She followed with a series of albums, including Dangerous Acquaintances (1981), A Child's Adventure (1983), and Strange Weather (1987). Faithfull also wrote three books about her life: Faithfull: An Autobiography (1994), Memories, Dreams & Reflections (2007), and Marianne Faithfull: A Life on Record (2014).

Just released via ABKCO Records, Come Stay With Me - The UK 45s 1964-1969 is a collection of all the A and B-sides of the ten singles Marianne recorded for UK Decca between 1964 and 1969; plus her Go Away From My World EP, for good measure.

1. 'As Tears Go By'
2. 'Greensleeves'
3. 'Blowin' in the Wind'
4. 'House of the Rising Sun'
5. 'Come and Stay With Me'
6. 'What Have I Done Wrong'
7. 'This Little Bird'
8. 'Morning Sun'
9. 'Go Away from My World'
10. 'The Most of What Is Least'
11. 'Et Maintenant (What Now My Love?)'
12. 'The Sha La La Song'
13. 'Summer Nights'
14. 'Yesterday'
15. 'Oh Look Around You'
16. 'Tomorrow's Calling'
17. 'That's Right Baby'
18. 'Counting'
19. 'I'd Like to Dial Your Number'
20. 'Is This What I Get for Loving You?'
21. 'Something Better'
22. 'Sister Morphine'

Mastered from the best possible sources, including some fresh Abbey Road transfers of the original tapes, all these lush tracks are in authentic mono, just like the actual 45s.

The CD begins with Marianne's Top 20 hit 'As Tears Go By,' and backs that up with the endearing 'Greensleeves.' The delightful 'Blowin' In The Wind' is next and showcases that aforementioned raspy change in her vocal expression perfectly and that's followed by both 'House Of The Rising Sun' and another of her Top 20 hits, the poppy bounce of the Jackie DeShannon-written cut, 'Come And Stay With Me.'

The singer who quickly became one of the lead female artists during the British Invasion in the United States then brings us the gentle '70s psych pop of 'What Have I Done Wrong,' which she backs us seamlessly with 'another Top 20 hit in 'This Little Bird.' The foot-tappin' 'Morning Sun' is next and is backed by the hipsway of 'Go Away From My World' and the slow hand clap ballad, 'The Most Of What Is Least.'

Produced by Andrew Loog Oldham, Mike Leander, Tony Calder and Mick Jagger, next up is the French-sung delight 'Et Maintenant (What Now My Love?),' the finger-snappin' delight 'The Sha La La Song,' and another Top 20 hit in the form of 'Summer Nights.' A cover of The Beatles' Yesterday' is then backed by the psych appeal of 'Oh Look Around You,' the poppier 'Tomorrow's Calling,' and one of my own personal favorites, the lesser known, Shirley Bassey-esque 'That's Right Baby.'

The laid back flow of 'Counting' is a pure delight to behold, and that's followed by the gentle pop sense balladry of 'I'd Like To Dial Your Number' and then the all-out chart pop sound of 'Is This What I Get For Loving You?' The album then rounds out with the lesser-known gem 'Something Better' and then controversial cut, 'Sister Morphine.'

Written by Marianne Faithfull, Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, she released the original version of the song as the B-side to her Decca Records single 'Something Better' (February 1969), bu interestingly enough, a different version was released two years later by the Rolling Stones for their 1971 album Sticky Fingers.

Come Stay With Me - The UK 45s 1964-1969 is packaged in a sumptuous 24-page booklet boasting a 6000-word note by leading music journalist Kris Needs and features many illuminating quotes from Marianne herself.

In addition to the gorgeous cover shot by photographer Tom Frank, the CD booklet also includes seven stunning full-page color portraits from the mid-60s.

CD Purchase Link