Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - 'Still There'll Be More: Anthology 1967-2017'
Artist - Procol Harum

For those not in the know, Procol Harum is an English rock band formed in 1967.

Their best-known recording is the 1967 hit single "A Whiter Shade of Pale", considered a classic in popular music and one of the few singles to have sold over 10 million copies.

Although noted for their baroque and classical influence, Procol Harum's music also embraces the blues, R&B, and soul.

In 2018, the band was honored by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame when "A Whiter Shade of Pale" was inducted into the brand-new Singles category.

Esoteric Recordings (via Cherry Red Records UK) have just release this past March 23rd, 2018 an official, and incredible, newly-remastered 2CD set celebrating 50 years of the legendary Procol Harum.

This set, brilliantly entitled Still There'll Be More: Anthology 1967-2017 draws upon 29 key tracks from Procol Harum's illustrious career, beginning with the classic "A Whiter Shade of Pale", released in May 1967.

It also features material from each of their albums from their eponymous debut album issued in 1967 to their most recent work - Novum - issued in 2017.

CD 1:
1. "A Whiter Shade of Pale"
2. "Homburg"
3. "Cerdes (Outside the Gates of)"
4. "Repent Walpurgis"
5. "Shine on Brightly"
6. "Quite Rightly So"
7. "A Salty Dog"
8. "The Devil Came from Kansas"
9. "Whisky Train"
10. "Whaling Stories"
11. "Simple Sister"
12. "Broken Barricades"
13. "Conquistador"
14. "Look to Your Soul / Grand Finale"
15. "Grand Hotel"

CD 2:
1. "For Liquorice John"
2. "Fires (Which Burnt Brightly)"
3. "Nothing But the Truth"
4. "Beyond the Pale"
5. "As Strong As Samson"
6. "Pandora's Box"
7. "The Unquiet Zone"
8. "Something Magic"
9. "Strangers in Space"
10. "Perpetual Motion"
11. "An Old English Dream"
12. "This World Is Rich (For Stephen Maboe)"
13. "Can't Say That"
14. "The Only One"

Quite simply the most fully realized thematic work by any artist/band (to my mind, this brand new collection from Procol Harum encompasses everything great about the music industry and the band that made all these incredible tracks.

I mean, sure, everything about Procol Harem's "inner meaning" and descriptive poetic way with lyrics was, in truth, a wee bit over my head when I was 18, but I just knew they were saying something tremendously important!

Even if I couldn't quite understand what these unusual plays on words really meant, I knew it was about something real, touchable, honest, albeit just beyond the tip of my own tongue.

Every single track on this 29 cut album is incredible, brilliant listening, especially now it's all been remastered, but for me, A Salty Dog was always my go-to album of musical escape.

Indeed, putting A Salty Dog into perspective requires one to look back at the climate of rock music circa 1969. For this truly was the golden age of rock. The Beatles' White Album was a virtual smorgasbord of styles and influences. The Who's groundbreaking rock opera Tommy established new boundaries and The Byrds were blazing a trail called country rock with their superb Sweetheart of the Rodeo.

The Band really established a distinct departure from the heavy drum laden, high voltage electric guitar sound that Cream, Jimi Hendrix and Led Zepplin were beating to death. Their debut album Music From Big Pink was so radically different from mainstream rock that Eric Clapton himself all but abandoned the extended guitar solo in favor of a more roots oriented approach ... and so, the scene was set for Procol Harum's third album release, the aforementioned A Salty Dog.

This remastered set also features an illustrated booklet with an essay by Patrick Humphries and also includes many previously unseen photographs and memorabilia from Gary Brooker's private collection.

FYI: There's also a mind blowing Limited Edition eight disc (five CDs + three NTSC/Region 0 DVDs) set just released by Esoteric Recordings!

Procol Harum @ Facebook!

2CD Purchase Link

8CD Purchase Link