Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Sarah, Sarah: The Anthology'
Artist - Jonathan Butler

As part of its well-received and critically acclaimed anthology series, SoulMusic Records is truly proud to present Sarah Sarah – The Anthology, a highly satisfying retrospective of internationally-recognized recording artist, award-winning musician, songwriter and global performer Jonathan Butler’s work from 1985-1990 for Jive Records.

Soul R&B performer Jonathan Butler was born and raised in Cape Town, South Africa, and eventually signed to Jive Records in 1977. Later relocating to the UK, he enjoyed a high profile and several hit singles and albums across the 1980s.

The brand new 2CD release entitled Sarah Sarah: The Anthology contains all of Jonathan’s US and UK charted singles including the much-loved title track, 1987’s ‘Lies’ (a global pop/R&B hit, featured here in an extended version), 1988’s ‘Take Good Care Of Me’, an extended version of the Top 10 US R&B hit, ‘There’s One Born Every Minute (I’m A Sucker For You)’ and 1989’s ‘More Than Friends’.

The anthology (compiled by David Nathan with assistance from Amar Naik) also includes a number of key album cuts from Jonathan’s five Jive albums, notably ‘Love Hurts So Bad’, making its CD debut worldwide, quiet storm favourite ‘Love Songs, Candelight And You’, a stunning duet with gospel star Vanessa Bell Armstrong on ‘True Love Never Fails,’ and as a bonus, a 1999 cover of Jr. Walker’s classic ‘What Does It Take (To Win Your Love For Me)’ with acclaimed Dutch saxophonist Candy Dulfer.

CD 1:
1. Baby Please Don't Take It (I Need Your Love)
2. I'll Be Waiting for Your Love
3. Crossroads Revisited
4. Haunted By Your Love
5. 7th Avenue South
6. Love Hurts So Bad
7. Afrika
8. Gentle Love
9. Song for Jon
10. If You're Ready (Come Go With Me) - JONATHAN BUTLER with RUBY TURNER
11. Lies (Extended Version)
12. Take Good Care of Me
13. Holding on
14. I Miss Your Love Tonight
15. Going Home
16. Love Songs, Candlelight and You

CD 2:
1. One More Dance
2. Barenese
3. Say We'll Be Together
4. There's One Born Every Minute (I'm a Sucker for You) (Extended Version)
5. More Than Friends
6. Sarah Sarah
7. Take Me Home
9. Melodie
10. It's So Hard to Let You Go
11. All Grown Up
12. No Strings, No Ties
13. Sing Me Your Love Song
14. Heal Our Land
15. Welcome Home
16. What Does It Take (to Win Your Love for Me) - CANDY DULFER featuring JONATHAN BUTLER

In truth, Sarah, Sarah is a mixed bag of Butler's earlier '80s recordings, but that said, this beautifully packaged double album does also come chock full of some still incredible to listen to funky grooves and ballads.

Most all definitely locked into the whole '80's era of synth-pop, Butler's success was no mere fluke, as this incredible 32 track compilation clearly showcases.

Containing a nice mix of soul, smooth jazz, and funky guitar when called for, each and every song here is as good as what went before it. If you listen closely enough, some of the pop tracks are infused with that South African guitar sound he is now so proud to prominently display in his music.

Excellent notes by renowned US writer Justin Kantor include extensive quotes from Jonathan; and first class remastering (Nick Robins) and artwork (Roger Williams).

CD Purchase Link