Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - ‘Greetings From Bunezela!’
Artist - Bun E. Carlos

Don’t think you know Bun E. Carlos? Think again, for Brad M. Carlson, better known by the stage name Bun E. Carlos, is the primary drummer for American rock band Cheap Trick! He is the band's chief set lister and archivist, and maintained recordings of all the band's shows, some of which have been released under the title 'Bun E's Bootlegs'. Indeed, Carlos has two side bands with former Cheap Trick bassist Jon Brant; The Bun E Carlos Experience and the Monday Night Band.

His brand new album, Greetings From Bunezuela! is a rocking and eclectic set of tunes drawn deep from a serious record collection, mixing the reasonably familiar (“Tell Me” by the Rolling Stones, “I Can Only Give You Everything” by Them, “Him or Me” by Paul Revere and the Raiders and even Dylan's “It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry”) with lesser known classics.

Says Bun himself, “For 40 years I've been talking about doing a covers album. All the bands we grew up with - the Stones, Kinks, Who, Beatles - all of their first albums were covers!” And so this quite stunningly vibrant album is opened by the powerhaus ‘Do Something Real’ (feat. Robert Pollard) and is quickly backed by ‘Armenia City in the Sky’ (feat. John Stirratt), the Monkee‘s-esque ‘Him Or Me’ (feat. Hanson), and then both the fun beats of the Blackstones’ ‘I Love You No More’ (feat. Alex Dezen) and then ‘Tell Me’ (feat. Alejandro Escovedo). The gritty, down South blues of ‘It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry’ (feat. Dave Pirner) is next, and is followed by ‘Let The Mystery Be’ (feat. Xeno) and then the fast pop of the BeeGees‘ ‘Idea’ (feat. Robert Pollard).

The heavy hitting, Mexican-themed Jacques Dutronc track ‘Les Cactus’ (feat. Nicholas Tremulis) is next, and a wonderful stand-alone highlight of this recording, trust me! The thunderous ‘I Can Only Give You Everything’ (feat. Rick Rizzo) is next is backed by the appropriately-named ballad ‘Slow Down’ (feat. Alejandro Escovedo). Sadly, the album is then brought to a close with the mid-tempo chant of the Norwegian new wavers Fra Lippo Lippi‘s ‘Count On Me’ (feat. Xeno) and then the free flowing fun of ‘I Don't Mind’ (feat. Alex Dezen).