Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Sonic Boom'
Artist - Darren Rahn

For those not in the know, artist, producer and mixing engineer, Darren Rahn has just released his fifth solo album - and it's a doozy! With over 25 #1 radio singles and multiple Grammy nominations to his name, Rahn's talent as one of the world's premiere smooth Jazz exponents is beyond question.

Entitled Sonic Boom - and coming complete with a quite brilliantly executed cover art to match the explosive title - available March 4th, 2016 on Woodward Avenue Record, the new album also showcases the sonic architect of smooth Jazz that Rahn has most definitely become over the years. The writing, producing, and the performances on this album are excellent and truly deserve to be heard by all lovers of music; not just smooth Jazz.

Indeed, as Rahn himself has said about this album, "Sonic Boom features world class musicians playing real instruments on songs that come straight from my heart. These are full length songs with actual endings - no fades! The album is designed to play down much like a live set. You will hear a wide variety of my musical influences from jazz to funk, R&B to pop and fusion to gospel. I spent an incredible amount of time creating what I hope will be the most musical and sonically pleasing album to come from my studio thus far." He adds also that "Sonic Boom was created from the depths of my heart and forged with the best tools I could get my hands on."

1. 'D-Luxe'
2. 'Sonic Boom'
3. 'Funk Avenue'
4. 'Losing You (for Wayman)'
5. 'Together ... Forever ...'
6. 'Altered Ego'
7. '101 One'
8. 'Rock With You'
9. 'Sunday Soul'
10. 'Promises (for Priscilla)'

We begin this wonderful, quite upbeat and seriously catchy album on the front foot and in fine form with 'D-Luxe,' which Rahn backs perfectly with both the party atmosphere of the title track, 'Sonic Boom' (feat. Jonathan Fritzen) and then the more mid-tempo flow (at first) of 'Funk Avenue' (feat. Rick Braun). Things slow down for the late nite smokey cigar bar approach to 'Losing You (For Wayman)' [feat. Julian Vaughn], before the vocalized 'Together...Forever...' (feat. Rico Wint).

The funk is let out of the bag, slap bass on full tilt for 'Altered Ego' (feat. Robin Eubanks), and that's backed by the musical storytelling of '101 One.' This track has to be my favorite as you can just add your own words into the mix, hitting every bar, every note, every chord so perfectly with your own sung words that the song becomes yours and yours alone at that point. Michael Jackson's mid-tempo 'Rock with You' is next and is backed by both the slow piano/sax combo of 'Sunday Soul,' and then finally the haunting piano track 'Promises (For Priscilla).'