Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Truth - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack'
Artist - Brian Tyler

'Truth' is a film about journalistic integrity and ethics, which looks specifically at the 2004 ‘Killian documents controversy’ which essentially ended the careers of veteran CBS news producer Mary Mapes and the well-respected news anchor and journalist Dan Rather.

If you are not aware of this story, well, in the lead up to the 2004 US presidential election Mapes and Rather presented a report on the news magazine show 60 Minutes containing some damning allegations about then-president George W. Bush’s service in the Air National Guard in the 1970s. However, following the airing of the show, it was revealed that the documents Mapes and Rather relied upon as the basis for the report had been entirely fabricated – ostensibly to cripple Bush’s re-election campaign – and the resulting scandal was intensely damaging to CBS, who were accused of poor journalistic standards and incomplete fact-checking.

The film is directed by James Vanderbilt, and has an all-star cast, including Robert Redford as Rather, Cate Blanchett as Mapes, and Topher Grace, Dennis Quaid, Elisabeth Moss, and Bruce Greenwood in supporting roles.

The score for 'Truth' is by uber talented composer, Brian Tyler. A man more accustomed to writing music for Marvel super heroes and Fast & Furious car chases, to listen to his mostly-moody work here on 'Truth' is to marvel (all pun intended, sorry!) at how he can so easily traverse from one hectic, manic musical backdrop re: Marvel to something as indepth, as stern as this - and seamlessly.

1. "Asking Questions" (2:42)
2. "Truth Main Title" (2:32)
3. "Document"s (2:37)
4. "Three Hours" (2:59)
5. "Culmination" (2:46)
6. "FEA" (3:43)
7. "Transcendence" (2:15)
8. "Duty And Honor" (1:23)
9. "Needle In A Haystack" (3:22)
10. "Humble Beginnings" (2:09)
11. "Mistakes And Misunderstanding" (2:10)
12. "Pursuing The Truth" (1:38)
13. "Uncovering Lies" (4:16)
14. "Hodges Confirm" (3:10)
15. "60 Minutes" (1:54)
16. "Indiscretion" (1:22)
17. "Let's Start From The Beginning" (2:57)
18. "OETR" (2:59)
19. "I Am What I Am" (1:15)
20. "Public Apology" (3:49)
21. "End Of An Era" (4:36)

Tyler, who has brought us scores for such films as 'Partition,' 'The Killing Room,' and 'Standing Up,' weaves his magic composing wand once again here on 'Truth,' for as much as each of the 21 tracks are of a highly tense, always dramatic theme, the way he creatively approaches them - in terms of their individual instrumentation - is truly fascinating to behold.