Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Fats Domino - Thrillin' In Philly, Live 1973'
Artist - Fats Domino

For those not completely in the know, Antoine "Fats" Domino, Jr. is an American pianist and singer-songwriter. Domino released five gold (million-copy-selling) records before 1955 and he also had 35 Top 40 American hits. He has a music style based on traditional rhythm and blues ensembles of bass, piano, electric guitar, drums, and saxophone; which has proven, even after all these years, to be highly successful for him.

As for where Domino, Jr. "came" from, well, Billy Diamond, a New Orleans bandleader, discovered him when he accepted an invitation to hear a young pianist perform at a backyard barbecue in the summer of 1947. The pianist impressed Diamond enough that he asked Domino to play in his band, the Solid Senders, at the Hideaway Club in New Orleans. But no, he nicknamed him "Fats" NOT because Domino was of the heavy variety of pianists, but moreover he actually reminded him of renowned pianists Fats Waller and Fats Pichon.

Fats Domino - Thrillin' In Philly, Live 1973 is a pure vintage, unreleased concert performance by the legendary piano boogie master who inspired everyone from The Beatles to Bob Marley, the great Fats Domino!

Moving on, and now we have a wickedly-good live audio moment from back in 1973, when on November 16th, 1973 at the Philadelphia Civic Center, the great Fats Domino brought forth 22 scintillating tracks for the packed house.

1. 'Let The Four Winds Blow'
2. 'Blueberry Hill'
3. 'Please Don't Leave Me'
4. 'When My Dreamboat Comes Home'
5. 'Walking To New Orleans'
6. 'My Blue Heaven'
7. 'Ain t That A Shame'
8. 'I'm In Love Again'
9. 'Poor Me'
10. 'My Girl Josephine'
11. 'Goin' To The River'
12. 'Whiskey Heaven'
13. 'I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday'
14. 'When The Saints Go Marching In'
15. 'What A Price'
16. 'The Fat Man'
17. 'Another Mule'
18. 'Going To Mardi Gras'
19. 'Your Cheatin Heart'
20. 'The Sheik Of Araby'
21. 'I Want To Walk You Home'
22. 'Jambalaya (On The Bayou)'

In truth, I had no idea that Fats Domino was even still alive (and for that, as a music journalist I bow my head and humbly apologize), so to hear this and know that the man himself can also reflect back to his Golden Age today, well, that makes me smile a bunch (much like I hope it does he also).

This professionally mixed multi-track recording has superb audio quality that makes Fats s brilliant hits come to life including the aforementioned 'Blueberry Hill', 'Walking To New Orleans', 'Ain't That A Shame', 'Jambalaya (On The Bayou)' and so many more!

Finally, liner notes from music historian Dave Thompson sets the stage for this career-reviving tour that introduced a whole new generation to the magic of Fats Domino!

CD Purchase Link