Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Blues for Jimi: Live in London' (Eagle Rock)
Artist - Gary Moore

This unique concert was recorded at the London Hippodrome on October 25th 2007. It formed a part of the launch for the Jimi Hendrix Live At Monterey program and featured Gary Moore and his band performing classic Hendrix tracks.

I have been a HUGE fan of Gary Moore since the early days of Thin Lizzy. I loved all his hard solo rock stuff, even the ballad rock stuff, but didn't really get on with his blues period. Too many long, winding bluesy guitar solos for my money, sorry.

That said, this live concert recording comes in at just 74 minutes, but could have gone on for hours, if truth be told. A man on the verge of death, sadly as I don't think he even knew given his stellar musical performance the night this was recorded, Gary performs some great versions of Jimi's songs for a packed house.

Personally I don't have a place in my musical history for Jimi himself, but the best songs on this live concert are 'I Don't Live Today,' 'Fire,' 'Red House,' the always-impressive 'Hey Joe,' and, of course, the powerhaus 'Voodoo Child.'

At the end of the night Gary was joined by Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox of the Jimi Hendrix Experience for three tracks! I think we can all get behind the quote that Gary Moore was one of the finest guitarists of all time and that to pay homage to Jimi Hendrix's groundbreaking, and truly distinctive guitar style was not only a risk, but something not a lot of others could have managed - and succeeded in doing.

The line-up that night was Gary Moore (guitar, vocals); Dave Bronze (bass); Darrin Mooney (drums) with Billy Cox (bass on tracks 9-11) and Mitch Mitchell (drums on tracks 9-11). And the full track-listing was: 'Purple Haze,' 'Manic Depression,' 'Foxy Lady,' 'The Wind Cries Mary,' 'I Don't Live Today,' 'My Angel,' 'Angel,' 'Fire,' 'Red House,' 'Stone Free,' 'Hey Joe,' and then 'Voodoo Child (Slight Return).'