Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'I'm Feelin' Lucky' (Cleopatra Records)
Artist - Popa Chubby

Theodore Joseph "Ted" Horowitz aka Popa Chubby (a play on the slang idiom "pop a chubby", meaning to ... well, you get the idea!), is an American electric blues singer, songwriter, and guitarist.

With a discography that spans now 24 albums, from 1994 to 2014, Popa Chubby is legendary on the blues scene; and rightly so. Indeed, Popa Chubby has a lot of reasons to feel lucky this year. 2014 marks the 25th anniversary of his emergence as a powerful force in the venerable New York blues scene with his very own band, and his own unique brand of blues rock and funky soul.

With a current line-up of himself and both Erik Boyd on bass and Sim Cain on drums, the first track of his brand new album, I'm Feelin' Lucky is 'Come To Me,' and it's a great way to begin the album. Complete with additional vocals from Dana Fuchs, well, it's a true gem on this new compilation. Next up is the blues funk of 'One Leg At A Time,' and that's backed by a beautiful Santanaesque blues guitar opening (and middle) to 'Three Little Words.'

Another great song follows in the shape of the growled 'Rollin' N' Tumblin', which also features an extended and highly foot-tappin'ly addictive Texan guitar solo. That's followed by the more sedate 'Too Much Information,' and then an electric, simply incredible extended guitar masterclass alongside Mike Zito for 'Rock On Bluesman.'

The drum beat intro to the title track, 'I'm Feelin' Lucky' is next and is definitely one of the trippy blues highlights of this wonderfully infectious album. 'Save Your Own Life' is next, and then the album is rounded out by 'I'm A Pitbull (Nothing But Love)' ("This song's for my best friend"), and then finally, 'The Way It Is.'