Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Small Faces: Deluxe Edition' (UMe)
Artist - Small Faces

Funnily enough, as both have just come out as Deluxe Edition's this very same week, the Small Faces' new album (at the time) on the Immediate label (self-titled, of course - and confusingly, the only album they made for Decca was also self-titled!) was matched in the record stores in 1967 by From The Beginning. That album was actually only released as a spoiler by Decca, the Small Faces' old label, to coincide with the release of this album!

Indeed, the Small Faces did not especially appreciate the gesture, and made a point of specifically discouraging people from buying From The Beginning in the advertising for this, their new album!

Also, and before we delve into this 2-CD release, the Small Faces had one line-up change while they were with Decca. In October 1965, Jimmy Winston left and was replaced on keyboards by Ian McLagan. Although the Decca album Small Faces depicted Ian McLagan on the cover when it was released in May 1966, Jimmy Winston played on five or six of the tracks, recorded before his departure, and largely comprising their stage act of the time.

This digitally remastered and expanded two CD deluxe edition of the British quartet's 1966 debut album (featuring plenty of bonus material including rare and previously unreleased material) kicks off with the groovy 'Shake,' and follows it up with both the fast-paced 'Come On Children' and the sing-along of 'You Better Believe It.' It continues on with the drum beats of 'It's Too Late,' before the guitar-fused 'One Night Stand,' the pop bounce hit 'What'Cha Gonna Do About It,' the Beatles-esque 'Sorry She's Mine,' and the organ-infused instrumental 'Own Up Time.'

Along next for the ride is the tuneful clap-along of 'You Need Loving,' with the slower-paced 'Don't Stop What You're Doing,' the harder-edge guitar work of 'E Too D,' and the classic guitar flicks of pop hit 'Sha La La La Lee.' The slow-plod of 'I've Got Mine' is next, with the vocally-proud storytelling of 'What's A Matter Baby' being followed by the psychedelic funk of the 'Grow Your Own' instrumental, and finally the all out jam session of 'Patterns.'

Disc two starts off with 'Come On Children (Alternate Version - Mono)' and goes into 'Shake (Alternate Version - Mono),' 'You Better Believe It (Alternate Version - Mono),' 'It's Too Late (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo),' and both 'Sorry She's Mine (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)' and 'Own Up Time (Alternate Version - Mono).'

It continues on with 'E Too D (Alternate Version - Mono),' 'I've Got Mine (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo),' and then backs it with both 'Grow Your Own (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)' and the classic 'Sha La La Lee (Stereo Version).'

The second disc brings the musical ride home with 'Don't Stop What You're Doing (Alternate Version - Mono),' 'Patterns (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo),' 'What's A Matter Baby (Alternate Mix - Mono),' and finally 'Whatcha Gonna Do About It (Alternate Version in Mono).'

Funnily enough, there is a Decca advert reproduced on Page 2 of the booklet that screams that the Small Faces are "Happening Now!" Second time around, let's hope so!