Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Antennas To Hell (Special Edition)'
Artist - Slipknot

Slipknot have been musically game-changing for an incredible two decades now and thankfully for all you rabid fans of theirs out there, they have just-released Antennas to Hell: Special Edition, a best of collection and so much more!

Released on Roadrunner Records, come late July Antennas to Hell: Special Edition musically documents the bands incredible career. Capturing the first chapter of Slipknot – a chapter where they’ve gone from unknown to the one of the biggest rock bands in the world - it contains career spanning classics PLUS the two-disc version of this wonderful new alvum (reviewed here today) includes a bonus live CD that captures the band’s 2009 performance at the legendary Download Festival in the U.K.

The album kicks off with the pounding '(sic),' appropriately track 1 on their self-titled debut, before heading into the industrial power chords of 'Eyeless' and the spoken-words of 'Wait And Bleed.' Next is the crushing vocal rant of 'Spit It Out,' which is followed by the electro-guitar work of 'Surfacing' and the drum-fused 'People = Shit.'

We soldier on with 'Disasterpiece,' before both 'Left Behind' and the bass-fused 'My Plague' come to the fore. "If you're 5-5-5 then I'm 6-6-6 ..." intro's 'The Heretic Anthem,' a crushing live version, that is backed by another live cut, this time 'Purity' ("This song is about a girl in a box.") Although not stated as being live, the next track 'Pulse of The Maggots' sure sounds live, before the soleful darkness of 'Duality.'

Pulsating guitars then bring us 'Before I forget,' with the haunting piano work of 'Vemilion' coming along next. Perhaps my favorite track of theirs, it is simply incredible to listen to here on Antennas To Hell. Then comes 'Sulfur,' the wild guitars of 'Psychosocial,' 'Dead Memories,' and then the quiet acoustic passion of 'Snuff.'

Another '(sic)' comes next, this time recorded live at Download 2009. Indeed, every song that rounds out this album here-on-in is a live cut direct from Download 2009: 'Eyeless,' 'Wait And Bleed,' 'Get This,' ' Before I Forget,' 'Sulfer,' 'The Blister Exists,' 'Dead Memories,' 'Left Behind,' 'Disasterpiece,' 'Vermilion,' 'Everything Ends,' 'Psychosocial,' and then 'Duality,' 'People = Shit' and both 'Surfacing' and 'Spit It Out.'