Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Cherry Pop

Title - 'Indestructible: Expanded Edition [Import]'
Artist - The Four Tops

For those that don't know, (The) Four Tops are an American vocal quartet, whose repertoire has included doo-wop, jazz, soul music, R&B, disco, adult contemporary, and showtunes.

Founded in Detroit, Michigan as The Four Aims, lead singer Levi Stubbs (born Levi Stubbles, a cousin of Jackie Wilson and brother of The Falcons' Joe Stubbs), and group mates Abdul "Duke" Fakir, Renaldo "Obie" Benson and Lawrence Payton remained together for over four decades, having gone from 1953 until 1997 without a single change in personnel.

However, in 1988, The Four Tops left Motown (the company for whom they recorded enduring classics such as ‘Reach Out I’ll Be There’ and ‘I Can’t Help Myself’) after a third stint to make one album, INDESTRUCTIBLE for Arista Records.

Having not scored any major hit for a while they knew it was a gamble, but wanted to risk shaking things up with some new blood at the helm behind-the-scenes. With Arista founder Clive Davis now helming the project as executive producer, the original members of the legendary quartet (Duke Fakir, Lawrence Payton, Levi Stubbs and Obie Benson) began what was soon to become work on one of their best albums to date.

Granted, Levi Stubbs' lead vocals are as soulful and powerful as ever and most of the songs are superbly produced. 'Let's Jam,' the pulsating dance floor smash 'Loco In Acapulco' and the duet with Aretha Franklin 'If Ever A Love There Was' are highlights, but the entire CD is almost as good as anything The Four Tops recorded for Motown prior to 1972.

This SoulMusic Records’ expanded edition reissue includes six bonus tracks including the UK single of ‘Loco In Acapulco’ and three remixes of the track, an extended version of ‘Indestructible’ and a non-album ‘B’ side ‘The Four Of Us,’ written by group member Lawrence Payton as well as liner notes by renowned UK writer Charles Waring including quotes from producer Narada Michael Walden.

1. Indestructible
2. Change Of Heart
3. If Ever A Love There Was (Duet With Aretha Franklin & Featuring Kenny G)
4. The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine (Featuring Clarence Clemons)
5. Next Time
6. Loco In Acapulco
7. Are You With Me
8. I'm Only Wounded
9. When You Dance
10. Let's Jam
11. The Four Of Us (Uk Arista 7" Maxi - Single)
12. Loco In Acapulco (Body Mix) (European Arista 12" Single)
13. Loco In Acapulco (Ph Dub) (Uk Arista 12" Single)
14. Loco In Acapulco ((Ph Balance Mix - Full Version) (European Arista 12" Single)
15. Indestructible (Extended Mix) (Uk Arista 12" Single)

CD Purchase Link