Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'I've Failed You' (eOne)
Artist - Kittie

Having had more melodic, accessible, realized, confident-sounding, well-written, and polished releases to date (yes, Funeral for Yesterday, I'm taking about you!), I was wary of I've Failed You - especially as I wasn't a huge fan of In The Black.

And as much as Kittie remain an acquired taste for some listeners, this latest album is doubtlessly Kittie's most mature to date, that's for sure. This 11-track album kicks off with the vocal pounding of the title track 'I've Failed You,' before the informative storytelling of 'We Are The Lamb.'

With no song longer than three and a half minutes, the next song is 'Whisper of Death,' which is the first to feature snippets of lead singer and guitarist Morgan Lander's normal, clean singing voice! This is followed by 'What Have I Done,' a song that is probably the most melodic on the album, and gives us more of Landers' calmer voice to admire.

Next we get the two contrasting musical night and days of 'Empires (Part 1)' and 'Empires (Part 2).' The former is a short, but beautiful acoustic solo guitar interlude, before the power of the latter kicks in! This song, 'Empires (Part 2)' has to be my favorite on this album for as much as Landers' growls are sexy, addictive to listen to, her natural voice (presented here via the chorus) is just stunning when thrown into the mix.

'Come Undone' and 'Already Dead' are both fillers (churning riffs, and repetitive, lumbering rhythms), compared to the goodness that has been and is about to come, but the melodic 'Never Come Home' brings us back on quality track. The powerhouse 'Ugly' is next, with 'Time Never Heals' closing the album out.