Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - Always Comes Back: The Authorized Recordings
Artist - SVT

For those not in the know, SVT is a San Francisco based outfit fronted by ex-Jefferson Airplane/Hot Tuna bassist Jack Casady (a 1996 inductee to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for his work with Jefferson Airplane).

Casady brought with him Nick Buck from Hot Tuna and added Brian Marnell and Bill Gibson from Airplay (ex Sound Hole).

The band was formed early in 1978 as Jack Casady Band but evolved rapidly into SVT and their debut single Heart of Stone, became a hit on local FM station KSAN.

Bill Gibson, who had been a founding member of SVT, did not play on any of SVTís albums - only on the singles. Although, he is playing drums and singing backing vocals on two tracks that were added to the re-released and extended No Regrets album.

Bill left SVT in 1979 to form what was to become Huey Lewis and the News and was replaced by local drummer Paul Zahl.

So what does SVT stand for? Long time fans thought it to be Supra Ventricular Tachycardia - excessive heart beat and pulse rate. I mean, sure, thatís a cool idea because SVTís music could cause that, but in reality the name SVT was simply taken from Jackís bass amp rig!

The recordings of the San Francisco rock group SVT are set to be reissued on vinyl for the first time in the modern era. Always Comes Back: The Authorized Recordings by SVT is out now on CD and will be released as a double-vinyl LP by Liberation Hall on June 3rd, 2022.

1. Bleeding Hearts
2. Waiting for You
3. No Regrets
4. Money Street
5. Love Blind
6. North Beach
7. What I Donít Like
8. Secret
9. Too Late
10. You Donít Rock
11. Price of Sex
12. I Can See
13. Red Blue Jeans
14. Always Come Back
15. I Walk the Line
16. Modern Living
17. Down at the Beach
18. New Year
19. Wanna See You Cry
20. Heart of Stone
21. The Last Word

The most mainstream of the San Francisco club bands from the late í70s and early í80s, SVT open this compilation on the aching angst of Bleeding Hearts and the gently rambunctious Waiting for You and follows those up with the rebel-imbibed awe of No Regrets, the drum-led feist of Money Street, the harmonious rocker Love Blind, and then comes the soaring North Beach and the alt-punk of What I Donít Like.

Up next is the rhythmic alt-rock of Secret and the aching, mid-tempo AOR balladry of Too Late which are in turn backed by the foot-to-the-floor, bass-imbed You Donít Rock, the pop bounce of Price of Sex, the jangly, raw ambiance of I Can See, the sing-along, quietly countrified rocker Red Blue Jeans and the free flowing Always Come Back.

Along next is one of my own personal favorites form this new compilation, their vibrantly heartfelt cover of Johnny Cashís renowned I Walk the Line and that is followed by the (early) Adam & The Antz-esque Modern Living, the languishing ache of Down at the Beach, the bluster-incorporated New Year, the album rounding out on the Ramones-esque Wanna See You Cry, the guitar work within the melodic pop rock of Heart of Stone, coming to a close on the joyously upbeat, drum-led rhythms of The Last Word.

Official Purchase Link