Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - Play On
Artist - Scott McCarl

For those unaware, Scott McCarl only appeared on a single Raspberries album (their 1974 swansong, Starting Over) but the bassist proved his worth, co-writing five of the album’s tracks.

In the aftermath of the Raspberries, McCarl pursued other career paths and only sporadically returned to songwriting. That’s why it took over two decades for his debut solo album to appear.

Titled after his best-known Raspberries composition, Play On was released in 1998 and showed that McCarl’s knack for Beatlesque power pop hadn’t dimmed in the slightest.

This new compilation includes choice cuts from the original Play On as well as additional songs from McCarl’s discography, a brand new 2021 track, with the original compositions now joined by one cover tune, Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Crying, originally performed by Gerry & the Pacemakers.

Backing musicians include the Rubinoos, Hilly Michaels, and Lux Interior’s brother, Michael Purkhiser.

Liberation Hall also has a vinyl release of this compilation planned for later this year.

1. I’ll Be on My Way
2. I Hope
3. Wait a Minute Girl
4. Fallin’ in Love
5. In Love Without a Girl
6. I Think About You
7. Don’t Wanna Go
8. Go Down Swingin’
9. Run for the Sun
10. Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’
11. Doin’ It Right
12. Suspicious [CD Bonus Track]
13. Like Nobody Can [CD Bonus Track]

This vibrantly exciting album opens on the beautifully melodic I’ll Be on My Way and the crafted hipsway of I Hope and backs those up seamlessly with the harmonious ebb and flow of Wait a Minute Girl, the gently fervent Fallin’ in Love and then we get both the guitar rocker In Love Without a Girl and one of my own personal favorites here, the rueful balladry of I Think About You.

Up next is the laid back rock of Don’t Wanna Go and the foot-tapping, piano blues-imbed Go Down Swingin’ which are themselves followed by the forthright Run for the Sun, the highly-impassioned rendition of Jerry & the Pacemakers’ 1964 track Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’ with the album rounding out on the upbeat Doin’ It Right and then the CD-only bonus tracks: the (early) Bryan Adams-esque Suspicious (1984) and the summers breeze of the brand new track, Like Nobody Can (2021).

Amazon Purchase Link