Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - Anything Is Possible (Deluxe Edition) [2CD]
Artist - Debbie Gibson

For those not in the know, and the third in Cherry Red’s series of Debbie Gibson re-issues, originally released November 1990 on Atlantic Records, Anything Is Possible (Deluxe Edition) (due out March 25th, 2022 via Cherry Pop Records, UK) includes material co-written with Motown legend Lamont Dozier of the songwriting/production titans Holland-Dozier-Holland among its original 16 tracks.

After exploding onto the charts with her debut album Out Of The Blue in 1987, Debbie Gibson racked up an impressive string of international hits.

Singles from her debut, such as ‘Only In My Dreams’, ‘Foolish Beat’ and ‘Shake Your Love’, quickly made her a household name.

Her second album, Electric Youth was a US chart-topper, selling millions of copies around the world and included the signature song ‘Lost In Your Eyes’, and was followed by Anything Is Possible.

This brand new 2CD Deluxe Edition expands the original 16 track release over two discs for it is now split evenly between dance (NRG UP Side) and ballads (Mood Swings).

Indeed, the album represented a period of artistic growth for Debbie and contains some of her best material, including the top 30 US hit ‘Anything Is Possible’, ‘(This So-Called) Miracle’ and ‘One Hand, One Heart’.

CD 1 – “NRG UP 1”
1. Another Brick Falls
2. Anything Is Possible
3. Reverse Psychology
4. One Step Ahead
5. Stand Your Ground
6. Deep Down
7. It Must’ve Been My Boy
8. Lead Them Home My Dreams

CD 1 – “Mood Swings”
9. One Hand, One Heart
10. Sure
11. Negative Energy
12. Mood Swings
13. Try
14. In His Mind
15. Where Have You Been?
16. (This So-Called) Miracle Bonus tracks
17. So Close To Forever
18. The Most Beautiful Love Song

Now inclusive of a whole disc of remixes by Masters At Work, PWL and Jellybean and non-album tracks ‘The Most Beautiful Love Song’ and ‘So Close To Forever’, a previously unreleased PWL remixes of ‘One Step Ahead’ and a 2022 introduction written by Debbie, this is truly the cherry on the cake of what this album could ever be and well worth adding to your collections, trust me!

As for the review, well, as we all well know, Debbie Gibson and Tiffany were often compared to one another in the late 1980s, and in 1990 there was even more reason to compare them when both singers tried to shed their teeny-bopper images and record more mature, less sugary albums.

While Tiffany turned to new jack swing and urban contemporary with unconvincing and weak results on New Inside, Gibson had a bit more artistic success mining the dance-pop waters here on Anything Is Possible (albeit only a little bit, in all truth).

Though some of the material is fairly decent (including Another Brick Falls and the Madonna-ish, Lamont Dozier-produced It Must’ve Been My Boy), most of it is pedestrian, homogenized and nothing, sadly, quite pops like we all had hoped for at the time.

Indeed, the album was Gibson’s first to not reach the Top 10 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, peaking at #41 in the United States. It made the top 40 of the Cashbox albums chart for one week, peaking at #38 on December 22nd, 1990 before descending down the chart.

The album actually sold fewer copies than her previous two albums, Out of the Blue and Electric Youth, both of which had gone multi-platinum, but let us noT concentrate too much on those facts and get back to the music.

Taken on the musical merits of both its divided sides (especially those who first had it on vinyl, of course), Side A is a delightful cacophony of snappy fast songs, complete with Debbie rapping really quite well, using a nice array of unique percussion sounds and vocal effects.

Side B most definitely showcases Debbie’s ability to emotionally affect the listener, the romance contagious and beautiful throughout each and every so-called mood swing.

Stand outs for me personally, are the gospel-tinged number Deep Down that is clearly the most accomplished track on the entire record (in my humble opinion), what has to go down as one of Debbie’s best ballads ever, One Hand, One Heart, and the slinky, groovy Negative Energy.

CD 2 – Remixes
1. Anything Is Possible (Remix Edit)
2. Anything Is Possible (12” Harding & Curnow Remix)
3. Anything Is Possible (Jellybean Dance Mix)
4. Anything Is Possible (Radio Edit Of Dance Mix)
5. Anything Is Possible (Dub Mix)
6. Anything Is Possible (Instrumental)
7. (This So-Called) Miracle (Edit)
8. One Step Ahead (Hot Radio Mix)
9. One Step Ahead (Club Mix)
10. One Step Ahead (Masters At Work Mix)
11. One Step Ahead (Underground Mix)
12. One Step Ahead (Radio Mix With Rap)
13. One Step Ahead (Bonus Beats)
14. One Step Ahead (PWL 7” Edit)
15. One Step Ahead (PWL 12” Remix)

Official 2CD Purchase Link