Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [April 2023]
  Gotham Knights [David Russo - Composer]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - Torch Light
Artist - The Breakers

Hot on the heels of their two most recent, critically-acclaimed albums, including the 2020 release of Voodoo Treatment as we as an EP from late 2020 / early 2021 entitled A Date with Destiny, Chicago’s prolific instrumental surf-rock band The Breakers return in style with Torch Light.

Indeed, the 18-track Torch Light clearly demonstrates just how and why The Breakers have evolved into one of the most prolific instrumental combos of the early 2020’s surf-rock scene.

In all honesty, calling The Breakers a creative surf-rock collective would be an understatement as just about every genre of the modern day guitar instrumental sound is explored to the max on this brand new album.

1. A Trip Through Life (2:20)
2. Ocean Of Fire (2:10)
3. Wisconcentration (3:06)
4. Torch Light (3:58)
5. Escalator For Two (2:51)
6. The Wreck of The Edmund Fitzgerald (3:23)
7. Riot (2:01)
8. Blue Light Run (3:43)
9. The Other Side of The Clock (3:09)
10. Guilty As Charged (3:24)
11. Rum With Me (2:47)
12. Tide Pool (2:22)
13. The Most Trouble I’ve Ever Been In (2:08)
14. Orphans of The Storm (3:44)
15. Afternoon Moon (2:17)
16. Bitchin’ Board Bust Out (2:26)
17. Never To Be Found (1:40)
18. Egyptian Surf (2:24)

The wonderful, simply divine new album from The Breakers opens on the laid back rock hipsway of A Trip Through Life and the upbeat Ocean Of Fire and backs those up seamlessly with the funky Wisconcentration, the free flowing title track Torch Light and then we get the emotive rhythms of Escalator For Two and the reverberated guitar work of The Wreck of The Edmund Fitzgerald.

Next up is the aptly-named Riot which is in turn followed by the screechingly, surf rock empowered ‘Blue Light Run, and then comes the melodic The Other Side of The Clock, the sterner guitar stance of Guilty As Charged, the mid-tempo rock and underlying percussion of Rum With Me and then we get the power surf duo of both Tide Pool and The Most Trouble I’ve Ever Been In.

This quite wonderful new album then rounds out with the fairly translucent, psych reverb rock of the brilliantly sculptured Orphans of The Storm, the finger-snapping Afternoon Moon, the more traditional fare of Bitchin’ Board Bust Out, closing on the wishy-washy reverb psych rock of Never To Be Found and the aptly-named Egyptian Surf.

As on their earlier albums, Torch Light features the imaginative and magnetic guitar work of Jim Abrahams along with the expert Breakers rhythm section of Marc Lockett (drums, percussion), and Jayson Slater (bass).

On top of highlighting the core Breakers band, Torch Light also features guest spots from other fine musicians including Bruno Kriese (bass on Escalator For Two), Dan Klapman (sax), Gary Kretchmer (trumpet) and Jeff Bond (guitar), with the icing on the cake being contributions from Breakers producer Craig Williams (production, guitar).

Official Purchase Link

The Breakers @ Facebook!