Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - Again
Artist - The Furys

For those unaware, punk legends The Furys are back with a new album The Furys Again which will be released in all formats on October 8th, 2021.

Furthermore, if this fact had also escaped you over the past few decades, The Furys are one of Southern California’s first New Wave/Punk/Powerpop bands!

The group’s first single was released in 1977 (Hey Ma b/w Jim Stark Dark), and 1978’s Say Goodbye to the Black Sheep was an international success, garnering extensive airplay, press, and live performances.

According to founding member and lead vocalist Jeff Wolfe, “The Furys formed in 1977 as a reaction to the dreadful noise that was on the radio at that time.”

1979 saw the release of the Moving Target / We Talk We Dance single which elicited substantial critical response.

The Furys released a five-song mini album entitled Indoor/Outdoor in 1987. Recorded at EMI/America studio in Hollywood, Indoor/Outdoor had an excellent sales run, huge radio response and heavy press coverage.

The band’s new singles (New Wave Girl and Action Reaction) were released the second week of September 2021 and these songs are the first new material issued by the band since 2015’s The Sound of the Furys CD.

2. GLITTER BOMB (3:27)
3. ANNA, COME HOME (4:10)
4. NEW WAVE GIRL (3:05)
5. WORTHY (4:41)
6. GOTTA GROW UP (2:56)
10. PLEASE, MR. KAFKA (1:23)
11. AFRAID (4:26)

This raw, earthy, melodically gritty album opens on the low angst alt-rock of TIGHTROPE WALKING and the rhythmic hipsway of GLITTER BOMB and backs those up with the guitar rocker ANNA, COME HOME, the gently free-flowing NEW WAVE GIRL and the storytelling empowerment of WORTHY.

Up next is the drum led handclapper GOTTA GROW UP and the pop rock guitar drawl of MISS HAVISHAM REGRETS which are in turn backed by one of my own personal favorites, the euphoric, percussion-imbibed beauty IT’S THE DAY THAT WAS THAT NEARLY WASN’T, the album rounding out on the gently guitar-careening, finger-snapping hipsway of ACTION REACTION, the short, but sweet upbeat rocker PLEASE, MR. KAFKA (a homage to the brilliant surrealist author Franz Kafka), closing on a powerful look at the BLM movement via the vocal and guitar reverb of AFRAID.

In conjunction with the release of The Furys Again album, a reissue program will occur concurrently containing all three singles as mentioned above plus the Indoor/Outdoor mini album.

These reissues will be the first time these pivotal tracks have been issued digitally. Says Jeff Wolfe, “After numerous multi-generational requests, The Furys have been reformed to continue their campaign for world domination.”

The musical direction of The Furys was, is, and always will be melodic poetry blended with powerful music. The group’s latest release The Furys Again proves, yet again, that this philosophy holds true.

Founding member and lead singer Jeff Wolfe provides the poetry. Long standing Furys member and multi-instrumentalist Dave Lewty provides the music.

This new album was recorded wholly in Lewty’s home studio with songs written by the duo. Wolfe and Lewty have enough compositions for three more Furys albums plus dozens more in various genres, including some not yet defined.

The Furys are entering their fifth decade of performing and recording; their latest album, The Furys Again keeps the original tradition alive whilst acknowledging contemporary influences.

The Furys that are responsible for this racket are:
Jeff Wolfe: lead, harmony, background vocals, yelling
Dave Lewty: bass, guitar, keyboards, vocal noises

Assisted by:
Momo McKellop vocal on 1,2,4,6,7,10
Kelly Fair vocal on 1,4,6,10
Jonathan Sheldon violins, piano, vocal on 7,9

Official The Furys Again Album Purchase Link

Official New Wave Girl - Single Purchase Link

Official Action Reaction - Single Purchase Link

Official Website

The Furys @ Facebook

The Furys @ Twitter

The Furys @ Instagram