Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - Duke Reid International Disco Series: Collection
Artist - Various

For those not in the know, the Duke Reid International Disco Series (The Complete Collection) 3CD set (out April 23rd, 2021 via Doctor Bird / Cherry Red Records UK) is a must for all fans of rock steady, dub and dancehall, as well as admirers of Duke Reids inimitable Treasure Isle sound.

The dancehall phenomenon of the late Seventies resulted in renewed interest in the sounds and rhythms of rock steady and early reggae; a development that prompted noted producer Sonia Pottinger to revisit many of the classic recordings in Duke Reids legendary Treasure Isle catalogue that she now owned.

The Duke had been a dominant force on the Jamaican music scene during the Sixties and early Seventies, when he had produced an array of hugely popular sides from his famed Treasure Isle studio on Bond Street, Kingston.

Upon his premature demise in 1976, Pottinger inherited the business, although it was not until the close of the decade that that the true value of Reids work began to be appreciated once more.

Aside from re-releasing numerous classic Treasure Isle sides on 7 inch and a trio of Hottest Hits long players, Pottinger also had Treasure Isle sound engineer, Errol Brown, remix many of Reids most significant sides, updating the sound to fit the new dancehall style.

The result was a series of 12 inch singles that saw issue in Jamaica on either the Treasure Isle or her own High Note label.

Virtually all of these recordings, along with four previously unreleased sides, feature on this essential collection and thus with all but a few of the tracks making their CD debut, this 3CD set is a must for all fans of rock steady, dub and dancehall, as well as admirers of Duke Reids inimitable Treasure Isle sound.

CD 1:
2. YOU DONT CARE - The Techniques & Ranking Trevor *
3. MY BEST GIRL - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
4. GET ON THE RIGHT TRACK - Phyllis Dillon *
5. I CANNOT STOP NOW - Alton Ellis
6. QUEEN MAJESTY - The Techniques & Jah Walton *
7. KANSAS CITY - Joya Landis *
8. OOO WEE BABY - Alton Ellis
9. TRUE TRUE - Ken Parker *
10. RIDING HIGH / GT.195 - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
11. IM IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE - The Techniques *
12. ALI BABA - John Holt +

* Tracks new to CD
+ Previously unreleased tracks

Opening on a song of hope for the world, If I Could Rule This World from Alton Ellis, that is backed by the mid-tempo ballad You Dont Care by The Techniques & Ranking Trevor, the infectious My Best Girl (by The Paragons & Jah Stone), the funky beats of Get On The Right Track (by Phyllis Dillon), and then we get the one-two dubstep of I Cannot Stop Now from Alton Ellis which is followed by the lush Queen Majesty from The Techniques & Jah Walton.

Next up is the perky Kansas City by Joya Landis which is itself backed by the foot-tapping beats of Ooo Wee Baby (Baby I Love You) from Alton Ellis, the upbeat R&B of True True by Ken Parker, with the first disc rounding out on the one-two dub of Riding High / GT.195 (The Paragons & Jah Stone), the fun hipsway of Im In The Mood For Love (The Techniques), closing on the uptown, fairytale, storytelling groove of Ali Baba from John Holt.

CD 2:
1. LOVE IS NOT A GAMBLE - The Techniques & Ranking Trevor *
2. I CANNOT STAND IT - Alton Ellis
3. THOSE GUYS - The Sensations *
4. TRAVELLING MAN - The Techniques *
5. PEACE AND LOVE - The Jamaicans *
6. MERCY, MERCY, MERCY - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
7. MOONLIGHT LOVER - Joya Landis *
8. YOU MAKE ME SO VERY HAPPY - Alton Ellis & Ranking Trevor
9. ITS YOU I LOVE - The Techniques *
10. DONT TOUCH ME TOMATO - Phyllis Dillon *
11. BARBWIRE - Nora Dean +
12. BREAKING UP / PHANTOM IN THE JUNGLE - Alton Ellis & Papa Ritchie
13. BREAKING UP DUB - The Supersonics *

* Tracks new to CD
+ Previously unreleased tracks

The second disc opens on the mid-tempo, slow roll of Love Is Now A Gamble by The Techniques & Ranking Trevor and the forthright groove of I Cannot Stand It by Alton Ellis and those are backed seamlessly by the gentle bounce of Those Guys (The Sensations), Travelling Man (The Techniques), and Peace and Love (The Jamaicans), and then we get the R&B dub soul of Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (The Paragons & Jah Stone), and a funky Moonlight Lover by Joya Landis.

Next up is the dubstep groove of You Make Me So Very Happy by Alton Ellis & Ranking Trevor and the drum-led Its You I Love by The Techniques, and they are followed by the wildly-named Dont Touch Me Tomato (Phyllis Dillon), a quite delicious Barbwire (Nora Dean), before rounding out on the twelve minute opus Breaking Up / Phantom In The Jungle (Alton Ellis & Papa Ritchie), closing on the rapturous Breaking Up Dub from The Supersonics.

CD 3:
1. BABY LOVE / WESTMORELAND FLOOD - The Sensations & Jah Stone *
2. YOU DONT CARE (2ND MIX) - The Techniques *
4. THE SAME SONG - The Paragons *
5. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN - Ken Parker *
6. CRY TOUGH - Alton Ellis & The Flames
7. I WISH IT WOULD RAIN - The Techniques & Jah Walton *
8. YOU HAVE CAUGHT ME - The Melodians *
9. STEALING - John Holt +
11. RED ASH - Carl Bryan & The Supersonics +
12. BABA BOOM BOOM - The Jamaicans *
13. MUSICAL BEST - Jah Thomas & The Supersonics *

* Tracks new to CD
+ Previously unreleased tracks

The third disc of this simply terrific new collection opens on the gentle hipsway of Baby Love / Westmoreland Flood by The Sensations & Jah Stone and the warm beats of You Dont Care (2nd Mix) from The Techniques, and they are followed by fairly swinging Chatty Chatty People by Alton Ellis, the one-two dubstep of The Same Song (The Paragons), the gentle funk of the love song I Should Have Known (Ken Parker), and then we get the R&B soul of Cry Tough (Alton Ellis & The Flames) and then comes the beautiful groove within I Wish It Would Rain by The Techniques & Jah Walton.

Then we get the a near nine minute long You Have Caught Me from The Melodians and a joyous Stealing from John Holt, which are backed by the one-two dubstep of Remember That Sunday from Alton Ellis, with this third disc, and the collection, rounding out on the forthright beats of Red Ash (Carl Bryan & The Supersonics), closing on the lush harmonies of Baba Boom Boom from The Jamaicans, and then the sonic reggae bursts of Musical Best come forth from Jah Thomas & The Supersonics.

Official 3CD Purchase Link