Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - Live in New Orleans-40th Anniversary Edition [2LP]
Artist - Maze featuring Frankie Beverly

For those not in the know, Maze featuring Frankie Beverly, one of America’s best-loved R&B bands, will celebrate the 40th anniversary of their acclaimed 1981 double album Live in New Orleans with a 2LP vinyl reissue and two special digital releases on February 19th, 2021 via Capitol/UMe.

The American soul band Maze was founded by Frankie Beverly in Philadelphia in 1970 under the moniker Raw Soul. Upon moving to San Francisco in the mid ‘70s and being introduced to Marvin Gaye, who took them out on the road as an opening act, they changed their name to Maze in part due to Gaye’s suggestion.

Along with having roots in both Philadelphia and the San Francisco Bay area, Maze have always considered New Orleans their home base. Beverly has credited the city for the Gold status of their 1977 debut album, Maze featuring Frankie Beverly, saying that the majority of copies were sold in Louisiana and the greater New Orleans area.

With that in mind, Maze decided to record their first live album and fifth overall album, Live in New Orleans, at the Saenger on November 14–15, 1980.

The studio tracks that make up Side 4 were recorded at the Automatt Recording Studio in San Francisco and the album was produced and arranged by Frankie Beverly for Amazement Music.

This 40th Anniversary 2LP will be released in two physical forms: standard weight black double-LP and special white vinyl, an homage to Beverly’s all-white stage outfits and an acknowledgment to the audience members who in their own tribute faithfully wore all-white to Maze shows.

Side A:
1. 'You'
2. 'Changing Times'
3. 'Joy and Pain'

Side B:
4. 'Happy Feelin's'
5. 'Southern Girl'
6. 'Look at California'

Side C:
1. 'Feel That You’re Feelin’'
2. 'The Look In Your Eyes'

Side D:
3. 'Running Away'
4. 'Before I Let Go'
5. 'We Need Love To Live'
6. 'Reason'

Live in New Orleans reached #3 on Billboard's R&B Albums chart and #34 on the Billboard 200 chart.

With three sides recorded at New Orleans’ Saenger Theatre, it features extended live versions of their top 10 R&B chart hits 'Feel That You’re Feelin’' and 'Southern Girl.'

It also features the definitive live versions of album cuts 'Look At California' and 'Joy and Pain,' probably their biggest song that was never a hit single – and it shows, as the band performance transforms into a thrilling audience sing-along.

Opening with the thunderously funky, come on everyone, clap your hands track 'You' they back that up with the free-flowing, smooth jazz/soul of the grooving 'Changing Times' (where Beverly talks about how the times are'a changing, and that we have to keep on truckin' through), and then the first side rounds out on a near ten minute, yet expertly broken down for some crowd participation, 'Joy and Pain.'

The second side opens with more smooth R&B brought forth within their big hit 'Happy Feelin's' and then we get the gently frenetic, yet carefully contained bounce of 'Southern Girl' (which also includes a mighty fine shout out to all the New Orleans women in the house), this side rounding out on their incredible 11 minute melodic jazz blues grooving, funky hipsway opus, 'Look at California.'

The third side opens with the nearly 10 minute, laid low R&B flow of the beautiful 'Feel That You’re Feelin’' which, and after the crowd unashamedly bays for more, they seamlessly back up with the soulful, mid-tempo balladry of 'The Look In Your Eyes.'

The fourth side is the studio side of Live in New Orleans and opens with the Top 10 R&B hit 'Running Away,' and the yearning Maze anthem, 'Before I Let Go' (the latter of which was covered by Beyoncé for her 2019 Homecoming: The Live Album and was the topic of a dance challenge from the musician on social media), next comes the low slung ballad 'We Need Love To Live,' with this epic 40th Anniversary Edition 2LP release from UMe coming to a close on the smooth R&B ebb of 'Reason.'

In closing, Live in New Orleans secured Maze and Frankie Beverly's deep-rooted bond with New Orleans, and transformed it into an indelible, tangible delivery for the entire world to experience.

They’ve since closed the annual Essence Fest in the city for more than 20 years.

But wait, there's more as to coincide with the 40th anniversary release of Live in New Orleans during Black History Month 2021 and the week of Mardi Gras, UMe are also releasing the same day two digital remix EPs: Maze: The M+M Mixes and Joy and Pain: The Lifelines Remixes.

The M+M Mixes EP features all of the remixes created by M+M’s John Morales including Maze’s first R&B chart #1, 'Back in Stride,' in a version longer than the original 12”, and 'Too Many Games' (#5 US, top 40 UK), originally released only in the U.K. in 1985, and Morales’s 2017 remixes of 'Before I Let Go' and 'Joy and Pain,' that had only a limited release in Europe.

Each remix also has a corresponding instrumental version, two of which are previously unreleased (see track list below). All tracks are making their digital debut as well as their commercial US debut.

1. 'Before I Let Go' [M+M Mix, 8:50]
2. 'Joy and Pain' [John Morales M+M Mix, 11:11]
3. 'Back In Stride' [Extended M+M Mix, 9:34*]
4. 'Too Many Games' [Extended Remix, 7:30]
5. 'Before I Let Go' [John Morales M+M Mix Instrumental, 6:56*]
6. 'Joy and Pain' [John Morales M+M Mix Instrumental, 11:14*]
7. 'Back In Stride' [John Morales M+M Mix Instrumental, 8:15]
8. 'Too Many Games' [John Morales M+M Mix Instrumental, 5:47]

*Previously Unreleased

The Joy and Pain EP features the rare 'Lifelines' remixes of the classic song by Hank Shocklee, Eric Sadler and Paul Shabazz, a.k.a. members of the production team The Bomb Squad, best known for their era-defining, multi-layered work with Public Enemy.

These remixes, with Kurtis Blow doing a guest rap, were originally only issued on a promo 12” in 1989 to promote the album The Greatest Hits: Lifelines that included some remixes – and now, except for the long version on that album, these tracks are making their commercial debut as well as their digital debut.

The EP also includes a highly sought-after instrumental version of the original LP version of 'Joy and Pain.'

1. 'Joy and Pain' [Lifelines Remix 7” feat. Kurtis Blow, 4:17]
2. 'Joy and Pain' [Lifelines Remix Radio Version feat. Kurtis Blow, 6:56]
3. 'Joy and Pain' [Lifelines Remix feat. Kurtis Blow, 8:47]
4. 'Joy and Pain' [Lifelines Remix Instrumental, 8:32]
5. 'Joy and Pain' [Original LP Instrumental, 7:21]

Official 2LP Purchase Link

Maze featuring Frankie Beverly @ Facebook