Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'A Sky Full of Ghosts'
Artist - Sonus Umbra

For those not in the know, Sonus Umbra (Roey Ben-Yoseph - Lead Vocals; Rich Poston - Electric Guitar, Keyboards; Steve Royce - Flute, Keyboards; David Keller - Cello, Orchestral Percussion; Tim McCaskey - Acoustic and Electric Guitar; Andy Tillotson - Drums, Keyboards, Guitars, Sound Design; and Luis Nasser - Bass, Keyboards, Sound Design) are a progressive rock band that is currently, geographically dispersed between Chicago and Abu Dhabi, but was established in Mexico City back in the 20th century.

Formed in 1991 by a group of physics and math students in Mexico City who drew their shared love for all things dark, hard rocking and melodic, 30 years later, and now including some of the most accomplished veteran musicians of the Chicago rock music scene, the band continue casting shadows made of sound.

The band's new studio album, A Sky Full of Ghosts concludes the journey that began with Beyond the Panopticon and closes a chapter in the band's own journey.

The new album is a milestone of elaborate and ferocious prog rock, and yet it is also their most melodic material to date.

The former album tells the story about the misconceived identity of a nameless protagonist who reminisces about lost love and near misses with death until he suddenly discovers that all of these memories are false.

This brand new album starts with the protagonist at war with his identity and environment. He learns he is on board a vessel, deep in space and very far from home. The date unknown. His mission is to assist the AI that runs the vessel and keeps him healthy and alive as they search for an exoplanet suitable for human habitation.

1. 'Antidentity' (7:02)
2. 'Bleary-Eyed People' (08:09)
3. 'Desolation Dreams' (3:28)
4. 'Hidden in the Light' (20:52)
5. 'Losing My Insanity' (4:33)
6. 'The Last Menagerie' (7:09)
7. 'Time Is Running Out' (2:54)
8. 'The Waves Will Devour the Sea' (6:25)
9. 'Apogee' (4:02)

Opening with the free flowing majesty of the opus 'Antidentity' they back that up seamlessly with the eight minute long, epic storytelling of 'Bleary-Eyed People,' which itself is backed by the dulcet orchestrations of 'Desolation Dreams,' before we are then presented with the opus extraordinaire, and the longest track on the album at some twenty minutes, the mesmerizing 'Hidden in the Light.'

The keyboard-led, flute-enhanced, old Genesis-esque 'Losing My Insanity' is up next and is backed by the rocker 'The Last Menagerie,' then comes the atmospheric 'Time Is Running Out,' rounding out on the drum-led 'The Waves Will Devour the Sea,' closing on the acoustic and synth musical elegance of 'Apogee.'

Official Sonus Umbra Purchase Links

Sonus Umbra @ Facebook

Sonus Umbra @ YouTube

Sonus Umbra @ Twitter