Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Blue Plate Special' [Vinyl EP]
Artist - The Old Man Dinner Band

For those not in the know, The Old Man Dinner Band have just released their wondrously delightful Blue Plate Special, its first recorded endeavor.

The limited edition 45 rpm 10” EP, pressed on blue vinyl, is a six-song collection that reflects the band members’ fixation with the superannuated and the super soulful.

The songs they chose to record are associated with the repertoires and/or compositional talents of the Rolling Stones, Arthur Alexander, Little Richard, The Drifters, Allen Toussaint, Irma Thomas, Chris Kenner, the Dave Clark Five and Rosco Gordon, among others.

Blue Plate Special took shape at Redstar Recording in Los Angeles with Tim Sonnefeld producing, along with The Old Man Dinner Band.

Side A:
1. 'You Better Move On'
2. 'Just A Little Bit'
3. 'Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me'

Side B
4. 'Sweets For My Sweet'
5. 'It's Raining'
6. 'I Like It Like That'

Each of the Old Man Dinner Band’s members comes to the group from show biz careers that have been marked by scores of accolades. The O.M.D.B. crew includes an Emmy nominee, a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, a Grammy-nominee, a Grammy winner, an Indie International Songwriting Contest winner and a BMI Award winner.

These much lauded and awarded players are, in alphabetical order, Peter “Petey” Andrews (guitar), Sam Graham (guitar), Randy Poe (bass), Harvey Shield (guitar and vocals) and Pete Thomas (drums).

Opening on the free flowing, gently twanging melodies of 'You Better Move On' (which was written and recorded by Arthur Alexander and also recorded by the Rolling Stones, Dean Martin and The Hollies), they back that up with the one-two rock shuffle, complete with a vibrant guitar interlude of 'Just A Little Bit' (which was written by John Thornton, Piney Brown, Ralph Bass and Earl Washington as recorded by Rosco Gordon and was also recorded by Little Milton and Roy Head), with Side A rounding out with the more forthright, Presley-esque 'Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me' (written by Leo Price as recorded by Little Richard and also recorded by Ian Gillan & Roger Glover with Dr. John).

Side B opens with the renowned melodies and hooks of 'Sweets For My Sweet' (written by Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman as recorded by The Drifters and also recorded, and taken to #1 by The Searchers in 1963 as their debut single, and C.J. Lewis), and back that up with the soulfully magnetic, dulcet ambrosia of 'It’s Raining' (written by Naomi Neville, aka Allen Toussaint, as recorded by Irma Thomas and also recorded by Shakin’ Stevens in 1981, climbing to #10 on the UK Singles Chart, and Freddy Fender), closing on the relatively spoken word, short but sweet, R&B flow of 'I Like It Like That' (written by Chris Kenner and Allen Toussaint, as recorded by Chris Kenner and also recorded by the Dave Clark Five in 1965, and which charted at #7 on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as The Nashville Teens and Brinsley Schwarz).

For their debut, the band chose to record songs at least 50 years old, most of which are rooted in America’s south, a region that all agree is a wellspring of soulfully honest expression.

Voluminous liner notes for Blue Plate Special were written by Bob Merlis, co-author of Heart & Soul: A Celebration of Black Music Style In America 1930 – 1975.