Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Threesome Vol. 2' [EP]
Artist - The Lickerish Quartet

For those not in the know, The Lickerish Quartet (not to be confused with the 1970 Italian erotic film of the same name) is an American rock band formed in Los Angeles in 2017.

Consisting of keyboardist Roger Manning, guitarist Eric Dover, and bassist Tim Smith, each former members of the band Jellyfish, they released the EP Threesome Vol. 1 in May of 2020, have now just released Vol. 2, and are even scheduled to release the final CD of the trilogy later this year.

Dover joined the band during the 1993 tour supporting their second album Spilt Milk. After their breakup in 1994, Manning and Dover formed Imperial Drag, a band which lasted until 1997.

Meanwhile, Smith formed one-half of the band Umajets and recorded the 1995 album Demolotion with help from Manning and Dover. This marked the last time the three musicians played together until 2017.

By the 2010s, Smith had relocated to Atlanta, while Manning and Dover stayed in Los Angeles. The Lickerish Quartet began forming in early 2017 when Manning reached out to Smith with the intent "to continue in the tradition of a lot of the pop/rock stylings" that he had appreciated.

He then reached out to Dover as well. Without the direct goal of recording, the trio got together for several writing sessions, each lasting around a week long, and ultimately produced 12 songs (Jeremy Stacey was recruited to play drums on the recordings).

As aforementioned, the first Volume of Threesome was released last year, but now we have been gifted Vol. 2 (released through Lickerish Quartet/Label Logic), and much like its forbearer, it also brings forth four (4) brand new songs.

1. 'Do You Feel Better?'
2. 'Sovereignty Blues'
3. 'The Dream That Took Me Over'
4. 'Snollygoster Goon'

This rather delightful, era-evoking EP opens with the melodic smooth rock groove of 'Do You Feel Better?' and backs that up with the harder-edged, foot-tappin' rock 'n' roll of 'Sovereignty Blues.'

Next up is my own personal favorite, the early'90s pop-rock found within 'The Dream That Took Me Over' which is then itself backed by the indie-tinged, at times Green Day-imbibed 'Snollygoster Goon.'

Amazon Purchase Links

The Lickerish Quartet @ Facebook

The Lickerish Quartet @ Twitter

The Lickerish Quartet @ Instagram