Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Across the Waves'
Artist - The Harmed Brothers

For those not in the know, over a decade ago, singer/songwriter Ray Vietti first encountered LA transplant, song-smith and multi-instrumentalist Alex Salcido.

The two soon came to recognize each other as kindred spirits in both vision and song, and began creating a universe in which The Harmed Brothers would tell their stories.

The duo recorded and released its independent debut, All The Lies You Wanna Hear in 2010, and their evolution as songwriters, as we ll as a growing band continued to shine through on their 2011 sophomore effort, Come Morning.

By 2013, years of constant cross-country touring led The Harmed Brothers to St. Louis' Native Sound Studio and with a full band in tow, they released their most ambitious work to date, Better Days.

An EP, A Lovely Conversation followed in 2016 as well as a 2017 self-titled release, but in 2019, The Harmed Brothers crossed the river into downtown Cincinnati's historic Herzog Studios to record their fifth, and highly anticipated new album, Across the Waves (due out June 5th, 2020 via Fluff & Gravy Records).

Listening to this new album, it veritably shines with some of The Harmed Brothers' strongest, and most self-realized tracks to date.

The collective wisdom of two songwriters beginning new chapters in their lives, working through ghosts, doom and existential hang-ups, might sound ominously foreboding, and yet somehow it not only cemented their kinship, but allowed them to bring forth ten tracks of pure indie Americana rock brilliance.

1. 'Skyline Over'
2. 'Picture show'
3. 'Funnies'
4. 'River Town'
5. 'Born a Rotten Egg'
6. 'In a Staring Contest'
7. 'Where You're Going'
8. 'All The Same'
9. 'Ride It Out'
10. 'Time'

Opening with the enormous balladeer pop rock of 'Skyline Over,' they back that up seamlessly with more of the same on 'Picture Show' and then comes the stuttered one-two, foot-tap hipsway of 'Funnies,' with the beautiful ballad 'River Town' up next.

We then get the pure Americana roll of 'Born a Rotten Egg' which is backed by the uptempo vibe of 'In a Staring Contest,' and then comes one of my own personal favorites, the stunning vocal resonance found within 'Where You're Going.'

The breezier, mid-tempo guitar fare of 'All The Same' is a delight to behold, and then the album rounds out with the guitars turned up for the rock of 'Ride It Out,' before coming to a close on a track that, at first, is an acoustic guitar bed that later becomes a free flowing, cultured, sonic staging of electric tranquility, 'Time.'

Alex Salcido (vocals, piano, guitar, banjo), Ray Vietti (vocals, guitar), Ben Knight (lead guitar), Matthew McClure (bass), Ryan Land(drums).

Official Purchase Links

The Harmed Brothers @ Facebook

The Harmed Brothers @ Instagram