Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Dawn Comes Quietly'
Artist - Sarah Elgeti Quartet with Friends

For those not in the know, Danish performer/composer Sarah Elgeti, who in 2008 received the Holbæk Jazz Award, has just recently released her brand new album, the rather beautiful Dawn Comes Quietly via Gateway Music.

On the 11 track album, Elgeti showcases superbly her talent as a magnificent musician on tenor sax, flute, and bass clarinet, whilst highlighting the obvious fact that she sure has some composing chops to her credit too.

This delightfully vibrant new recording under the banner of the Sarah Elgeti Quartet (which includes Nils Raae – keyboards/harmonica; Anders Krogh Fjelsted – bass; and Henrik Holst Hansen – drums) emphasizes her compositional skills on nine works, whilst indulging in a couple of classics (done her way, of course) lovingly borrowed from her fellow countryman, Carl Nielsen.

1. 'Magical Thinking'
2. 'Whereto?'
3. 'Changing Whispers'
4. 'A Lot of People - A Lot of Sad Stories'
5. 'Autumn'
6. 'Crazy Destiny'
7. 'Introspection'
8. 'Gather Courage'
9. 'Snow'
10. 'En Sommeraften'
11. 'Tit Er Jeg Glad'

Having composed the quartet's repertoire of contemporary jazz that combines the lyrical expression of the powerful and expressive as a whole, the album begins with the charmingly soothing 'Magical Thinking' and backs that up seamlessly with both the late night/early morning, smoky underground jazz club vibe of 'Whereto?' and then the gorgeous early '70s France feel of 'Changing Whispers.'

The steadfast 'A Lot of People - A Lot of Sad Stories' is up next and is followed by the sultry vocals of 'Autumn,' the finger-snappin' beauty 'Crazy Destiny,' the inner longing felt within 'Introspection,' and then the mid-tempo warmth of 'Gather Courage.'

Elgeti's work rounds out with the dulcet 'Snow' and then we get the two renditions of the aforementioned Nielsen. The first a rather bewitchingly perky 'En Sommeraften,' the second a sexy, lo-fi 'Tit Er Jeg Glad.'

The collective "friends" ensemble is: Sidsel Storm - vocals; Alexander Kraglund - violin; Søren Birkelund - clarinet; and Marianne Cæcilia Eriksen - baritone saxophone.

Sarah Elgeti Quartet @ Facebook

Amazon Digital Purchase Link