Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Bob Odenkirk (Nobody)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  80s - China Crisis (2020)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'There Will Never Be Another You'
Artist - Calle Loíza Jazz Project

For those not in the know, the famous street in Santurce, Puerto Rico, named Calle Loíza, has a long and colorful history as a center of culture and artistic creativity.

Historically, in the late 1800s, it was an important and heavily traveled section of the road passing through Santurce for laborers from the town of Loiza en route to San Juan.

The Bomba rhythms are also known to have origins near Calle Loíza among other areas in Puerto Rico, most notably the town of Loiza.

Back in 1990, pianist Mark de Oca and drummer Jimmy Rivera formed a quartet at the Apple Jazz Club on Calle Loíza in Santurce, Puerto Rico, meeting bassist Tony Batista and guitarist Andre Avelino.

Three decades later the quartet reunited, adding two trumpets, flute, guiro and two percussionists for their new recording, There Will Never Be Another You

Released earlier this month, the Calle Loíza Jazz Project performs eight jazz standards, paying tribute to such heroic figures as Puerto Rican trumpeter Juancito Torres, Dave Valentin, Mongo Santamaria, Carlos "Patato" Valdes, and Jerry Gonzalez.

1. 'Seven Steps To Heaven'
2. 'Some Day My Prince Will Come'
3. 'Stolen Moments'
4. 'Dolphin Dance'
5. 'Old Folks'
6. 'In Your Own Sweet Way'
7. 'Well You Needn’t'
8. 'There Will Never Be Another You'

In addition to alternating trumpet solos from Melvin Jones and Gordon Vernick, sparkling flute playing from Xavier Barreto, and many memorable spots by Monts de Oca on piano, There Will Never Be Another You is most notable for its use of Puerto Rican rhythms (played by drummer Rivera, congero Javier Oquendo, guitarist Avelino, bassist Batista, Candido Reyes on guiro, and Ivan Belvis plus special guest spots for Brazilian percussionist Reinel Lopez).

The album kicks off in some fine style with the frenetic, yet cultured trumpet playing alongside bomba rhythms on 'Seven Steps To Heaven' and backs that up with the longest track on the album at over ten minutes, the highly atmospheric cha cha cha rhythms of 'Some Day My Prince Will Come.'

The finger-snappin' beauty of 'Stolen Moments' is then followed by the gentle hipsway of 'Dolphin Dance' - and both showcase mighty fine new treatments - with a relaxed bolero approach brought forth for 'Old Folks' along next.

This truly magical album then rounds out with the upbeat, carnival feel of 'In Your Own Sweet Way' (complete with Jones trumpet solo), a playful cover of Thelonious Monk's 'Well You Needn’t,' and then comes to a close with the free flowing title track, 'There Will Never Be Another You.'

Amazon CD Purchase Link

Calle Loíza Jazz Project @ Facebook!