Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Gotham Knights [David Russo - Composer]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2023]
  [NEW] Belouis Some (2024)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Empirical Truth'
Artist - Mark Newman

For those not in the know, Mark Newman has mastered the electric, acoustic, lap steel guitar as well as the mandolin and dobro, and with a voice reminiscent of many rock and blues men before him his new album, Empirical Truth has the familiar power and soul like many of today's rock, soul, folk and R&B icons.

On an album veritably stocked full of Newman's usual penchant for dynamic storytelling and political commentary, his songs lyrically range from the state of gun control in the U.S. to the Dakota Access Pipeline, an innocent man blamed for murder, love and loss and even a few covers from Little Feat, John Oates, and more.

1. 'Scapegoat'
2. 'Life Without You'
3. 'Mississippi Mile'
4. 'When I Aim My Gun'
5. 'Seven Days'
6. 'One More Song About a Highway'
8. 'Sharin' the Blues'
9. 'Pipeline'
10. 'Are You Lonely for Me'
11. 'Everything You Know'
12. 'Roll Um Easy'
13. 'Lycanthropy'

The album kicks off with the rough and tumble of 'Scapegoat' and moves quickly into both the funky blues of 'Life Without You' and the unashamed rocker 'Mississippi Mile.'

Overflowing with a passionate mix of Americana/Blues/Pop, all lovingly embraced and guided by some outstanding slide-guitar work from start to finish, next up is the mid-tempo storytelling of 'When I Aim My Gun,' the upbeat ballad 'Seven Days,' and then one of my own personal favorites, the drum led, free flowing American bounce of 'One More Song About a Highway.'

The low down 'n' dirty 'Sharin' the Blues' is up next and is backed seamlessly by the foot tappin' rocker 'Pipeline,' and then the mid-tempo rocker 'Are You Lonely for Me.'

The album then rounds out with the glorious jam session found within 'Everything You Know,' the acoustic guitar ballad 'Roll Um Easy,' and then the longest track on the album (at nearly six minutes), the excellent 'Lycanthropy.'

On this new album, Newman is joined by drummers Shawn Murray and John Michel, keyboardists Kevin McKendree, James Dower and Mark Bonder, bassist Craig Privett, and vocalists Naomi Margolin, Janet Montalbo, Maag Stanley, Steve Bluth, Jeff Lubin, Jacob Koch, and Norm Madnick.

Amazon Purchase Links