Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'The Singles Collection'
Artist - Bay City Rollers

For those not in the know, the Bay City Rollers are a Scottish pop rock band known for their worldwide teen idol popularity in the 1970s.

They have been called the "tartan teen sensations from Edinburgh", and "the first of many acts heralded as the 'biggest group since the Beatles'".

The group's line-up had many changes over the years, but the classic line-up during its heyday included guitarists Eric Faulkner and Stuart John Wood, singer Les McKeown, bassist Alan Longmuir, and drummer Derek Longmuir.

Vocalist Les McKeown still leads a version of the band to this day and has recently undertaken a tour of the UK’s largest venues with the likes of Suzi Quatro and David Essex.

Indeed, another version of the line-up still touring now includes guitarist Stuart John Wood (Woody), singer Ian Thomson, bassist Marcus Cordock and drummer Jamie McGrory.

The UK No.1’s ‘Bye Bye Baby’ and ‘Give A Little Love’ plus Top Ten’s such as ‘Remember’, ‘Shang A Lang’, ‘Summerlove Sensation’, ‘Love Me Like I Love You’ and ‘Money Honey’ are all included.

Also featured is the U.S. chart topper ‘Saturday Night’ plus many other hits from around the globe as the band in the mid 70’s – unlike many other UK bands whose success was limited to their homeland – really did rule the charts all over the world.

From one of the biggest selling bands of the entire '70s comes this 47 track clam shell box-set rounding up all of the singles from when "Roller Mania" ruled the world!

CD 1:
1. 'Keep on Dancing'
2. 'Alright'
3. 'We Can Make Music'
4. 'Jenny'
5. 'Manana'
6. 'Because I Love You'
7. 'Saturday Night'
8. 'Hey! C.B'
9. 'Remember'
10. 'Bye Bye Barbara'
11. 'Shang A Lang'
12. 'Are You Ready for That Rock N Roll'
13. 'Summerlove Sensation'
14. 'Bringing Back the Good Times'
15. 'All of Me Loves All of You'
16. 'The Bump'

CD 2:
1. 'Bye Bye Baby'
2. 'It's For You'
3. 'Give A Little Love'
4. 'She'll Be Crying Over You'
5. 'Saturday Night (Les Version)'
6. 'Marlina'
7. 'Money Honey'
8. 'Maryanne'
9. 'Love Me Like I Love You'
10. 'Mama Li'>br> 11. 'Rock 'N Roll Love Letter'
12. 'Shanghai'd in Love'
13. 'I Only Wanna Be with You'
14. 'Rock 'N Roller'
15. 'Yesterday's Hero'
16. 'My Lisa'

CD 3:
1. 'It's A Game' 2. 'Dance, Dance, Dance'
3. 'You Made Me Believe in Magic'
4. 'Are You Cuckoo?'
5. 'Dedication (Les Version)'
6. 'The Way I Feel Tonight'
7. 'Love Power'
8. 'All of the World Is Falling in Love'
9. 'If You Were My Woman'
10. 'Turn on the Radio'
11. 'Washington's Birthday'
12. 'Life on the Radio'
13. 'Ricochet'
14. 'No Doubt About It'
15. 'Set the Fashion'

The first disc kicks off with the finger-snappin' gentle pop rock hipsway of 'Keep on Dancing' and backs that up with the drum-led (and repetitive chords of) 'Alright,' the charismatic 'We Can Make Music' (a track that was originally meant to be released as the band's first single with 'Alright' on the B side, although that honor obviously went to 'Keep On Dancing'), and then both the faux piano lead in to the upbeat tempo of 'Jenny' and the unchosen Eurovision song contest qualifier, 'Manana.'

Next up is 'Because I Love You' (sung by Gordon "Nobby" Clark) which is backed by the bubblegum pop of that era 'Saturday Night,' the roaringly gritty rock of 'Hey! C.B,' the Sha la la la la la la la shoobie do of 'Remember' and then both the twangy bounce of 'Bye Bye Barbara' and always brilliant and catchy as all heck 'Shang A Lang.'

The fists pumped high 'Are You Ready for That Rock N Roll' (a track that never made it anywhere, sadly) is up next and that's followed by one of their all-time greats, and a song that after all the years still sounds great and brings back some wonderful memories, 'Summerlove Sensation.'

Next up is the gentle mid-tempo cut 'Bringing Back the Good Times' with both the joyous bounce romp of 'All of Me Loves All of You' and the drum-led 'The Bump' rounding the first disc out nicely.

The second disc opens with the phenomenal chart hit 'Bye Bye Baby' (written for them by the Four Seasons), and that's backed by the lesser known, and yet still brilliant to hear today ballad 'It's For You' and then another ballad in the form of 'Give a Little Love' ("It's a teenage dream to be seventeen. And to find you're all wrapped up in love.")

Written by Eric Faulkner and Stuart "Woody" Wood and the B-side of their hit single 'Give A Little Love,' next up is 'She'll Be Crying Over You' and that's followed by a 'Saturday Night (Les Version).'

The heart skip beats of 'Marlina' makes this, quite easily, one of the best BCR songs (in my humble opinion) and that's backed by both the heavy guitar work of the Faulkner/Wood cut 'Money Honey.'

The delightful pop rock of 'Maryanne' is up next and is backed by both 'Love Me Like I Love You,' 'Mama Li' (which was the B-side of 'Love Me Like I Love You' and had a video of the boys mucking out horses, if memory serves me correctly!), the hard rocking of 'Rock 'N Roll Love Letter' and then the dreamy mid-tempo ballad 'Shanghai'd in Love.'

This second disc continues on with the foot-tappin' classic 'I Only Wanna Be with You' and the guitar and vocal rocker 'Rock 'N Roller,' with the disc rounding out with both 'Yesterday's Hero' (which was already a hit in 1975 by John Paul Young in Australia and written by two Australian's from The Easybeats - Vanda and Young) and then the beautiful ballad 'My Lisa.'

The third and final disc begins with a new era for the BCR and the track 'It's A Game' (which had been an unsuccessful 1973 single by String Driven Thing),which came from an album that mysteriously only went to #18 on the UK Album Charts of the year.

'Dance, Dance, Dance' is next and that's followed by the pop soul R&B funk of 'You Made Me Believe in Magic' and the pure, unadulterated brass funk of 'Are You Cuckoo?' 'Dedication (Les Version)' is next (although the original version sung by Ian Mitchell is still the better one, for me), and that's backed by one of best love songs ever written, 'The Way I Feel Tonight.'

The rock guitar work on 'Love Power' is one to turn the sound bar up for and that's followed by both the gentle beauty of 'All of the World Is Falling in Love' and the pop flow of 'If You Were My Woman.'

At the end of 1978, the band had split with McKeown, then fired manager Tam Paton shortly after, and decided to continue in a more new wave, rock-oriented sound.

Their name was now the Rollers. South African-born Duncan Faure joined the band as new lead vocalist, guitarist and songwriter. The first of those was the pop rock bounce of 'Turn on the Radio' which was backed by the heavier 'Washington's Birthday' and the whistled-in fan favorite 'Life on the Radio.'

The third disc then rounds out with the guitar-heavy instrumental 'Ricochet' (which was a far cry from their teenage bubblegum pop '70s stuff), the absolutely thunderous 'No Doubt About It' and then the melodic back beats of 'Set the Fashion.'

With Faure, the line-up produced three albums: Elevator (1979), Voxx (1980) and Ricochet (1981).

The booklet also contains notes for each single and stacks of collectable picture sleeves from across the world plus tons of memorabilia.

Official 3CD Box-Set Purchase Link