Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - 'One Day Closer to Yesterday'
Artist - Shumaun

For those not in the know, Shumaun initially started as a solo project by Farhad Hossain (ex singer/guitarist/keyboardist of the Sensory Records progressive metal outfit Iris Divine).

After recording a few demos, he decided to recruit a few friends to help build the project into a full-fledged collaborative band.

Through the course of recording their self-titled debut album, Shumaun went through a period of tribulation while securing a drummer.

Original drummer Tanvir Tomal (ex Iris Divine) had to leave for professional obligations in the middle of the recording sessions and was later replaced with Waqar Khan (Entity Paradigm); who is also well known for his work with the platinum-selling Ali Azmat of the EMI recording artist Junoon (one of South Asia's most successful rock bands).

Waqar remained with the band long enough to record a few tracks on the debut record as well as appear live for some of the earlier shows. He later had to leave due to professional obligations that required relocation.

Drumming legends Travis Orbin (Darkest Hour, Periphery) and Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord) recorded the remaining drums on the debut record that was released in the fall of 2015.

However, Tanvir Tomal returned to the band by the time the debut album was released. Just in time to promote it in the live circuit.

This coming February 22nd, 2019, Shumaun - Farhad Hossain (Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards); Jose Mora (Bass); Tyler Kim (Guitars); and Tanvir Tomal (Drums) - will release their sophomore album entitled One Day Closer to Yesterday.

1. 'Sensus Divinitatis'
2. 'The Writing’s on the Wall'
3. 'Fear Is'
4. 'Nafsi Ammara'
5. 'City of Gold'
6. 'Central Station'
7. 'Prove Yourself'
8. 'Go'
9. 'Remember Me and I Will Remember You'
10. 'One Day Closer to Yesterday'

The album, once again mixed by Brett Caldas-Lima at Tower Studio in France, is noticeably more raw, heavier than their work before, but the melodies and vocals are never compromised.

The album opens with the soft, yet orchestrated keyboard musings of 'Sensus Divinitatis' and then the pace is truly picked up for the pulsing lead and bass guitar fest of 'The Writing’s on the Wall.'

As we wind our way melodically through this incredible new album, the beautiful 'Fear Is' stands out as being a true highlight along with the ethereal 'Remember Me and I Will Remember You.'

'Central Station' is another of those cuts that you can just lose yourself in, before the ferocious, pounding, melodic and just plain balls out rock God quality of 'Go' is brought forth.

Shumaun @ Facebook