Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - 'Drama: 3CD Expanded Edition'
Artist - Bananarama

For those not in the know, Bananarama are an English female pop music vocal group formed in London in 1981 by friends Sara Dallin, Siobhan Fahey and Keren Woodward.

Their success on both pop and dance charts has earned them a listing in the Guinness World Records as the all-female group with the most chart entries in the world. Between 1982 and 2009, they had 28 singles reach the Top 50 of the UK Singles Chart.

The group's 10 UK Top 10 hits include "It Ain't What You Do..." (1982), "Really Saying Something" (1982), "Shy Boy" (1982), "Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye" (1983), "Cruel Summer" (1983), "Robert De Niro's Waiting..." (1984), "Venus" (1986) and "Love in the First Degree" (1987).

In 1986, they had a U.S. number one with another of their UK Top 10 hits, a cover of "Venus". In total, they had 11 singles reach the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 (1983–88), including two more in the Top 10, with "Cruel Summer" (1984) and "I Heard a Rumour" (1987).

They are associated with the MTV-driven Second British Invasion of the US,[2] and featured on the 1984 Band Aid single, "Do They Know It's Christmas?". They topped the Australian ARIA albums chart in June 1988 with Wow! (1987), and earned Brit Award nominations for Best British Single for "Love in the First Degree", and Best Music Video for their 1988 hit cover of The Supremes single "Nathan Jones".

Fahey left the group in 1988 and formed Shakespears Sister, best known for the UK number one "Stay" (1992). She was replaced by Jacquie O'Sullivan. This line-up had UK top five hits with "I Want You Back" (1988) and The Beatles track "Help!" (1989), recorded with comedy duo French and Saunders for the charity Comic Relief. In 1989 they embarked on their first world tour.

After O'Sullivan's 1991 departure, Dallin and Woodward continued Bananarama as a duo, with hits including "Movin' On" (1992), "More, More, More" (1993) and "Move in My Direction" (2005).

Fahey rejoined Bananarama in 2017 and they toured the UK in November/December 2017 and North America in February 2018. They performed their final dates as a trio in August 2018.

CD 1: Drama + Original Bonus Tracks
1. 'Move in My Direction'
2. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango)'
3. 'Waterfall'
4. 'Frequency'
5. 'Feel for You'
6. 'Don't Step on My Groove'
7. 'Middle of Nowhere'
8. 'I Love the Way'
9. 'Lovebite'
10. 'Rules of Attraction'
11. 'Your Love Is Like a Drug'
12. 'Live in the Sun'
13. 'Venus (Marc Almond's Hi-Nrg Showgirls Mix)'
14. 'Really Saying Something (Solasso Mix)'

CD 2: Drama - The Full Length Dance Remixes
1. 'Move in My Direction (Bobby Blanco & Miki Moto Vocal Mix)'
2. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Solasso Remix)'
3. 'Move in My Direction (The Lovefreekz Club Mix)'
4. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Soul Seekerz Remix)'
5. 'Move in My Direction (Angel City Club Remix)'
6. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Angel City Extended Remix)' 8. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Yomanda Remix)'
9. 'Move in My Direction (Pat the Cat Ibiza Mix)'
10. 'Move in My Direction (Redanka's Fascination Instrumental)'

CD 3: Drama - Remix Edits & Dub Remixes
1. 'Move in My Direction (Angel City Remix Edit)'
2. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Angel City Short Mix)'
3. 'Move in My Direction (Bobby Blanco & Miki Moto Vocal Edit)'
4. 'Move in My Direction (The Lovefreekz Radio Edit)'
5. 'Move in My Direction (Pat the Cat Edit)'
6. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Solasso Remix Dub)'
7. 'Move in My Direction (The Lovefreekz Dub)' 9. 'Move in My Direction (Angel City Dub)'
10. 'Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango) (Yomanda Dub Remix)'
11. 'Move in My Direction (Bobby Blanco & Miki Moto Dub)'
12. 'Move in My Direction (Pat the Cat Dub)'

The first ever expanded edition of Bananarama’s ninth studio album, 2005’s Drama, includes all the commercially released club remixes, edits and dubs of its two singles as well as the original album’s bonus tracks and a non-album CD Single ‘B’-side, ‘Live In The Sun’ to complete this comprehensive 3 disc celebration.

Lead single ‘Move In My Direction’ put Bananarama back in the UK singles charts for the first time in 12 years reaching #14 in August 2005, then their dancefloor smash, a re-versioning of classic Italo Disco track ‘Look On The Floor (Hypnotic Tango)’ gave them a #26 hit just 3 months later.

Drama was also the first album to be released in Bananarama’s native UK for 12 years, heralding a British ‘comeback’ of sorts!

The album, an upbeat electro-pop blend of elements of 70s disco and contemporary electronica, also employed a number of top end collaborators.

Bananarama worked with a select team of world renowned producers and songwriters, including Ian Masterson, Mute8 and Sweden’s Murlyn; a production team that created an album of eleven newly recorded electropop tracks that were originally released with two bonus tracks re-instated herewith; Marc Almond’s Hi-NRG remix of a version of their 1986 smash hit ‘Venus’ and an all new remix of a version of their 1982 hit, ‘Really Saying Something’ – which had been an underground club hit produced by Solasso.

As for the original album, Drama most assuredly marked a departure in the type of music that Bananarama recorded. Whereas, prior to 2005, they were known as pop artists, with the release of Drama they reinvented themselves into contemporary EDM dance artists.

In my opinion, the best track on the album is "Look On the Floor (Hypnotic Tango)" and is, quite possibly, one of the best songs they have ever recorded over their 30+ years as a recording act.

The whole album is just chock loaded with catchy rhythms, dance grooves and other exciting twists within the 11 original album songs! Steering, as mentioned, more toward the electronica sound, everything on Drama is a genuine musical highlight to behold, love and dance to.

Personal stand out cuts for me include: 'Move In My Direction,' which is fun pop and this very addictive to catch the rhythm of (plus, oh my, what a sexy video!); the retro sound (even then) of 'Lovebite'; and here on this brilliant 3CD Expanded Edition, 'Really Saying Something (Solasso Mix)' - which is much better than the also-included Venus' remix. Solasso and Bananarama = match made in Heaven!

I mean, come on now, at no point do Bananarama EVER disappoint! Drama is definitely the girls at their dancefloor EDM best and clearly affirmed (at the time and now) their status as one of the best girl groups ... ever!

Oh, and this deluxe packaged re-issue, comes with a full color 20 page lyric and photo booklet including a specially written introduction from Keren and Sara.

3CD Purchase Link