Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [April 2023]
  Gotham Knights [David Russo - Composer]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Fish Out Of Water: Remastered & Expanded'
Artist - Chris Squire

For those not in the know, Chris Squire was an English musician, singer and songwriter best known as the bassist and a founder of the progressive rock band Yes.

He was the longest-serving original member, having remained in the band until his death in 2015 and appearing on every studio album released from 1969 to 2014.

Esoteric Recordings are proud to announce the release of an official remastered and expanded 2CD edition of Squire's legendary 1975 solo album, Fish Out Of Water.

This new 2CD edition, released April 27th, 2018 via Cherry Red Records (UK), features a stunning new Stereo mix from the original multi-track master tapes by Jakko Jakszyk and a new re-master of the original 1975 mix by Paschal Byrne.

CD: 1 - The New Stereo Mix
1. 'Hold Out Your Hand'
2. 'You By My Side'
3. 'Silently Falling'
4. 'Lucky Seven'
5. 'Safe (Canon Song)'

CD: 2 - The original Stereo Mix Re-Mastered
1. 'Hold Out Your Hand'
2. 'You By My Side'
3. 'Silently Falling'
4. 'Lucky Seven'
5. 'Safe (Canon Song)'
Bonus Tracks:
6. 'Lucky Seven' (Single Version)
7. 'Silently Falling' (Single Version)
8. 'Run With The Fox'
9. 'Return Of The Fox'

Recorded in the late Spring and Summer of 1975 whilst Yes was on hiatus as members recorded their respective solo albums, Fish Out Of Water was a breath-taking work, and equal in standard to any Yes album in terms of sheer invention and creativity.

The album was essentially a collaboration between Chris Squire and his friend Andrew Pryce Jackman, a gifted arranger who had been a member of The Syn, Squire’s pre-Yes group.

The sessions saw contributions from former Yes drummer Bill Bruford, Yes keyboard player Patrick Moraz and noted musicians Mel Collins and Jimmy Hastings.

Interestingly enough, the introduction to 'Hold Out Your Hand' features an organ passage played on the church organ at St Paul's Cathedral, London by the cathedral organist Barry Rose. Indeed, the organ continues throughout the song creating an original sound and revealing Squire and Jackman's experience together, as church choristers, in their boyhood.

The title of 'Lucky Seven' refers to the song being in 7/8 time signature. Musically, a melodic passage from Yes' song 'Close to the Edge' re-appears in the finale of 'Safe (Canon Song)'.

Also, the closing passage on 'Safe (Canon Song)' was played on the 4-string bass section of a double-neck guitar using only the pickups of the 6-string section.

Released in November 1975, the album was a Top 30 chart hit in the UK and made the US Billboard Top 75 album chart, going on to sell nearly 500,000 copies worldwide.

This newly Remastered & Expanded Edition of the album also includes four bonus tracks of the single edits of 'Lucky Seven' and 'Silently Falling', along with both sides of the 1981 single by Chris Squire and Alan White; 'Run With the Fox' and 'Return of the Fox' (both appearing on CD for the first time).

The set also contains an illustrated booklet with an essay by Sid Smith featuring exclusive interviews with Bill Brufold, Patrick Moraz, Gregg Jackman and Jakko Jakszyk.

This Esoteric Recordings edition is a fitting tribute to a wonderful album and the artistry of Chris and his collaborator, Andrew Pryce Jackman.

Official 2CD Purchase Link