Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'If - Expanded Edition'
Artist - Hollywood Beyond

For those not in the know, Hollywood Beyond was a British pop group from Birmingham, England.

Indeed, Hollywood Beyond was the brainchild of singer-songwriter Mark Rogers and their first single, "What's the Colour of Money", reached #7 on the UK Singles Chart in 1986.

The song also reached #8 in The Netherlands, #21 in Germany and #14 in Switzerland with their follow-up single, "No More Tears", peaking at #47 in the UK.

An album for Hollywood Beyond entitled If, followed on Warner Bros. Records in 1987, produced by Bernard Edwards, Mike Thorne and Stephen Hague. Former members include Andy Welch, Steve Elliott, Dean Loren, Mike Burns, Carol Maye and Maggie Smyth.

Now digitally remastered and expanded into a two CD edition, Cherry Red Records (UK) have just released the first ever reissue of this slice of 1980s pop by Mark Rogers aka Hollywood Beyond.

CD 1:
1. 'Opening Scenario'
2. 'Vision of Love'
3. 'After Midnight'
4. 'Save Me'
5. 'Crimes of Passion'
6. 'What's the Colour of Money?'
7. 'No More Tears'
8. 'Metal on Glass'
9. 'Shadows I Remember'
10. 'Hollywood Beyond'

CD 2:
1. 'What's the Colour of Money?' (12" Version)
2. 'What's the Colour of Money?' (The Go Ask Alice Remix)
3. 'No Time for Losers' (7" Version)
4. 'No More Tears' (7" Version)
5. 'No More Tears' (The Passion Play Dance Mix)
6. 'Save Me (Last Call)' (Extended Mix)
7. 'No More Tears' (Extended Mix)
8. 'Save Me' (7" Version)
9. 'After Midnight' (7" Version)
10. 'Gift to the Innocent (Paw Paw in Nassau)'
11. 'After Midnight (Quiet Moment)'

An incredible, overlooked, and highly underrated band, let alone album, If was followed neatly on the back of their huge Top 10 chart success with 'What's The Colour Of Money,' but it's the opening track here, appropriately entitled 'Opening Scenario' that truly opens the door to this album just perfectly. A .34 second, primarily softly spoken French word piece, it sets the scene for the synth drumtastic 'Vision Of Love.'

The mood is brought back down for the atmospheric 'After Midnight,' with the funky bass lines and key work of 'Save Me' along next. The thoughtful, pragmatic, Asian-flavored 'Crimes Of Passion' is one of the highlights on this album of many, and that's backed by the smash hit single (and one with one heck of a bouncy pop back beat) 'What's The Colour Of Money?'.

The cinematic pop landscape of 'No More Tears' is then followed by the captivating 'Metal On Glass,' with the original album rounding out with both the brilliant synth flow of 'Shadows I Remember', and then the original 7" B-side of 'What's The Colour Of Money?,' 'Hollywood Beyond.'

In truth, the album was always destined to be a smash as it had a stellar line-up of producers on board from the off. Including Bernard Edwards (Chic), Marcus Miller (Luther Vandross, Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis), and Stephen Hague (Pet Shop Boys, OMD, Malcolm McLaren), it should have been that aforementioned smash, but unfortunately it didn't go on to achieve the chart success that it deserved.

This expanded version of the original album now features a second CD of 11 bonus tracks. Cuts that include extended mixes, B-sides and other intriguing mixes and such from Mark Rogers' days as Hollywood Beyond.

With most all these bonus tracks appearing on CD for the first time the beautiful deluxe booklet (which uses the fully restored original album artwork) contains sleeve-notes by Michael Silvester.

2CD Purchase Link