Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - The Strangers: Prey At Night [Original Soundtrack]
Artist - Adrian Johnston

Mike and his wife Cindy take their son and daughter on a road trip that becomes their worst nightmare. The family members soon find themselves in a desperate fight for survival when they arrive at a secluded mobile home park that's mysteriously deserted -- until three masked psychopaths show up to satisfy their thirst for blood.

The movie - which is a reboot of Bryan Bertino's 2008 cult classic 'The Strangers' - stars Christina Hendricks, Martin Henderson and Bailee Madison.

Featuring music by Adrian Johnston ('Becoming Jane', 'Shackleton' and 'Brideshead Revisited'), the 23 spine-tingling tracks found here on this brand new release via Varese Sarabande are quite, for the most part, perfectly disturbing, to say the least.

1. 'Kids in America' (Performed by Kim Wilde) (3:24)
2. 'The Strangers Prey At Night' (1:21)
3. 'Gatlin Lake Getaway Welcomes You!' (2:32)
4. 'Is Tamara Home?' (4:01)
5. 'Is Somebody There?' (2:27)
6. 'Live It Up' (Performed by Mental As Anything) (3:47)
7. 'Bathroom Assault' (4:43)
8. 'Under Siege' (4:47)
9. 'On The Run' (2:58)
10. 'But We’ve Just Started' (1:11)
11. 'Cambodia' (Performed by Kim Wilde) (3:55)
12. 'Hunted' (1:34)
13. 'Remember That Time?' (1:20)
14. 'Call 911' (3:30)
15. 'Total Eclipse of The Heart' (Performed by Bonnie Tyler) (6:56)
16. 'Pulled To Safety' (2:15)
17. 'The Sheriff' (3:01)
18. 'Inferno' (1:27)
19. 'Making Love Out Of Nothing At All' (Performed by Air Supply) (4:53)
20. 'The Bridge' (2:19)
21. 'Deliverance' (1:54)
22. 'End Titles' (6:24)
23. 'Bonus Track' (1:58)

Which, overall, is a mighty fine compliment to Johnston, whose previous work has been more associated with, shall we say, PBS costume era compositions.

Kicking things off with one of my all-time favs from the '80s, 'Kids in America' from Kim Wilde - although, if you've seen the film, and how it opens, and how this track is used, it does make you kinda rethink your whole original memory - before Johnston lights up his red hot match of creepy musical taunts.

'Live It Up' from Mental As Anything seems, if you're just listening along at home, a random cut; but then again, watch the movie and see for yourself its menacing placement, before a few more Johnston orchestrations give way to another Kim Wilde classic cut, her fabulously underrated 'Cambodia.'

Three more tracks from Johnston lead us straight into one of the biggest songs of that decade, 'Total Eclipse of The Heart' from Bonnie Tyler ("turn around, bright eyes" ... again, watch the movie and you'll get it), and then, after a handful more compositions, well, you want really random, yer got it: 'Making Love Out Of Nothing At All' by Air Supply!

The soundtrack rounds out with a quartet more from Johnston, but it has to be said, as much as his attempt to compose for this genre of movie is admirable, his work is definitely overshadowed by the brilliance of the '80s tracks chosen to populate the film and, subsequently, this score.

Official CD Purchase Link