Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Cherry Pop

Title - 'Soyuz'
Artist - Gazpacho

For those not in the know, Gazpacho are an art rock band from Oslo, Norway. The original core band of Jan-Henrik Ohme (vocals), Jon-Arne Vilbo (guitars) and Thomas Andersen (keyboards, programming, producer) started making music together in 1996 and the band has since expanded with Mikael Krømer (violin, co-producer), Robert R Johansen (drums) and Kristian Torp (bass).

Gazpacho's music has been described by one critic as being "classical post ambient nocturnal atmospheric neo-progressive folk world rock". Indeed, their music has been compared to A-ha, Radiohead, Marillion and Porcupine Tree (and rightfully so, in truth).

Recorded at Krypton Planet & St. Croix Fredrikstad in Norway, engineered by Thomas Andersen, Kristian Torp and Mikael Kroemer, mixed by John Rausch and mastered by Sonovo Mastering’s Thor Legvold, Gazpacho's brand new album is entitled Soyuz. Releasing May 18th, 2018 via Kscope Records, the eye-catching artwork is designed by painter Antonio Seijas, and is actually inspired by Russian Cold War colors and fonts from the Soyuz One flight era.

The themes of Soyuz were born from the idea of how beautiful moments pass and cannot be “saved for later”, so within Soyuz are interconnected tales of people and lives “frozen in time”.

Taking inspiration from a multitude of eras and subject matters, including the doomed Russian space capsule Soyuz and its iconic captain Komarov; the Tibetan Buddhist funeral practice in 'Sky Burial'; the inclusion of the oldest recording of the human voice from 1860 and the Hans Christian Andersen inspired 'Emperor Bespoke'.

1. 'Soyuz One'
2. 'Hypomania'
3. 'Exit Suite'
4. 'Emperor Bespoke'
5. 'Sky Burial'
6. 'Fleeting Things'
7. 'Soyuz Out'
' 8. 'Rappaccini'

With what seems at first like a gentle, beating heartbeat, the album opens with the quite stunning 'Soyuz One,' a track that I could personally listen to over and over again. So beautiful. So delicate. That's followed seamlessly by the more upbeat melodies of 'Hypomania,' and the both the unadulterated ambiance of 'Exit Suite,' and the dulcet piano work of the art folk ballad 'Emperor Bespoke.'

The most interesting track on the new album for me is the gentle musical swirls of 'Sky Burial' which is backed with the simply beautiful 'Fleeting Things.' Sadly, the album then comes to a close with both the artful masterpiece 'Soyuz Out,' and then wraps with the thoroughly fascinating 'Rappaccini.'

Simply put, Soyuz is an album that grows and exposes more depth the more spins you give it. In fact, I couldn't rate it highly enough. It's a multi-layered piece of musical art and the musicianship is quite extraordinary.

CD Purchase Link

Gazpacho (the band) @ Facebook!