Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'AmeriKKKant'
Artist - Ministry

For those not in the know, Ministry is an American industrial metal band, founded in 1981 by Al Jourgensen in Chicago, Illinois. Originally a synth-pop outfit, Ministry shifted its style to become one of the pioneers of industrial metal in the mid-to-late 1980s.

The band's line-up has gone through many changes throughout its history, with Jourgensen remaining the only constant as the band's main producer, singer, songwriter, and instrumentalist.

Notable musicians who have contributed to the band's studio or live activities include Paul Barker, Martin Atkins, Bill Rieflin, Chris Connelly, Nivek Ogre, Mike Scaccia, Rey Washam, Paul Raven, Tommy Victor, Jason Christopher, Tony Campos, Burton C. Bell and DJ Swamp.

Ministry found mainstream success in the late 1980s and early 1990s with three of their studio albums: The Land of Rape and Honey (1988), The Mind Is a Terrible Thing to Taste (1989) and Psalm 69: The Way to Succeed and the Way to Suck Eggs (1992), with the former of the two certified gold and the latter certified platinum by the RIAA.

The 1996 follow-up album, Filth Pig, was also critically acclaimed but did not repeat the success of its predecessors; the album did, however, earn Ministry its highest chart position on the Billboard 200, peaking at number nineteen.

The band has been nominated for six Grammy Awards, and performed at several notable music festivals, including participating in the second annual Lollapalooza tour in 1992 and co-headlining Big Day Out in 1995.

Ministry was dissolved in 2008 after 27 years of recording and performing, and Jourgensen had since stated that they would never reunite. However, the band announced a reunion in August 2011, and has released three more studio albums since then: Relapse (2012), From Beer to Eternity (2013), and the just-released AmeriKKKant (2018).

Their first in 5 years, AmeriKKKAnt (which you could have pre-ordered through, ununlocking access to exclusive updates, content and merchandise), is without a shadow of a doubt, Al Jourgensen’s anti-love letter to Donald J Trump!

1. 'I Know Words'
2. 'Twilight Zone'
3. 'Victims of a Clown'
4. 'TV5/4Chan'
5. 'We’re Tired of It'
6. 'Wargasm'
7. 'Antifa'
8. 'Game Over'
9. 'AmeriKKKa'

Released via Nuclear Blast Records (worldwide) on March 9th, 2018, the 9 track album, overall, was a little disappointing to me. Noticeably containing some highly commendable, and pure Ministry tracks, mostly it is Jourgensen's endless rants against, well, anything and everyone here that weigh the lyrics down.

Containing a slew of repetitive segments interspersed with some rather uneven pacing, I can definitely say that Ministry's live energy does not come to the fore here at all.

Sure their signature roar, their massive guitar riffs, jackhammer beats, spoken-word samples and all that comes with that are here for the undertaking, but a sense of frsh air is most definitely not.

Unleashing, primarily or wholly, depending on how you view some of these tracks, a massive fist of revolutionary rock at the current President, Ministry's 14th studio album, by using as many Trump samples as he does throughout the album, you might be forgiven for thinking that our President was a co-writer of AmeriKKKant (he wasn't, just for the record!)

Inclusive of a rather lovely and very colourful 20-page lyric booklet, AmeriKKKant isn't for everyone, maybe not even all Ministry fans, but it is an album for those of us with reasonable expectations of a band once-Gods.

CD Purchase Link

Ministry @ Facebook