Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - '17th Avenue Revival'
Artist - The Oak Ridge Boys

For those not in the know, The Oak Ridge Boys are an American country and gospel vocal quartet and were founded in the 1940s as the Oak Ridge Quartet.

They became popular in southern gospel during the 1950s and their name was officially changed to The Oak Ridge Boys in the early 1960s. They remained a gospel group until the mid-1970s, when they changed their image and concentrated on country music.

The line up which produced their most world-famous and most well-known country and crossover hits (such as "Elvira", "Bobbie Sue", and "American Made") consists of Duane Allen (lead), Joe Bonsall (tenor), William Lee Golden (baritone), and Richard Sterban (bass).

Golden and Allen joined the group in the mid-1960s, and Sterban and Bonsall joined in the early 1970s. Aside from an eight-year gap (198795) when Golden left the group and was replaced, this line up has been together since 1973 and continues to tour and record.

Now The Oak Ridge Boys are back with a brand new Lightning Rods Records release entitled 17th Avenue Revival, produced by Dave Cobb, which will be released on March 16th, 2018.

This is the groups second project with Cobb, who produced the Oaks The Boys Are Back album in 2009. Vince Gill, Ashley Monroe, Jamey Johnson, and Brandy Clark all penned tracks on the new album, recorded at Studio A on 17th Avenue in Nashville.

Cobbs vision included no vocal stacking and very few overdubs during production. For two of the songs, the Boys gathered around one microphone and let the harmonies shine on the new collection.

In addition, and in typical Oak Ridge Boys fashion, the group set a unique precedent by presenting the Country Music Hall of Fame with a special Edison cylinder recording of 'Brand New Star,' the first track from their new album.

1. 'Brand New Star' (Aaron Raitiere & Mando Saenz)
2. 'There Will Be Light' (Jamey Johnson, Larry Shell & Buddy Cannon)
3. 'Gods Got It' (Charlie Jackson)
4. 'Id Rather Have Jesus' (Rhea Miller & George Beverly Shea)
5. 'Walk In Jerusalem' (Traditional /Public Domain)
6. 'Where He Leads Me I Will Follow' (Ernest W. Blandy / Public Domain)
7. 'Pray To Jesus' (Brandy Clark & Shane McAnally)
8. 'If I Die' (Ashley Monroe & Vince Gill)
9. 'Let It Shine On Me' (Vince Gill & Ashley Monroe)

The Gospel finger-snappin' country blues of 'Brand New Star' is a pure joy to behold and is backed seamlessly by both the piano ballad 'There Will Be Light' and the upbeat, rowdy 'God's Got It.' The more sedate 'I'd Rather Have Jesus' is a stand out track and is followed by the gentle hipsway of 'Walk In Jerusalem.'

The timeless Gospel track 'Where He Leads Me I Will Follow' is beautifully orchestrated here by the Oaks, and is backed by the uplifting 'Pray to Jesus' ("We pray to Jesus and we play the lotto, 'cause there ain't but two ways we can change tomorrow"). The mournful storytelling of 'If I Die' is up next and then the album rounds out with the raw truth and belief of 'Let It Shine On Me.'

CD Purchase Link