Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Wuthering Nights: Live in Birmingham'
Artist - Steve Hackett

For those not in the know, Steve Hackett is an English musician, songwriter, singer and producer who gained prominence as the guitarist of the English progressive rock band Genesis from 1971 to 1977.

Hackett contributed to six Genesis studio albums, three live albums, seven singles and one EP before leaving to pursue a solo career. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Genesis in 2010.

Hackett released his first solo album, Voyage of the Acolyte, while still a member of Genesis in 1975. After a series of further solo albums beginning in 1978, Hackett co-founded the supergroup GTR with another progressive guitarist, Steve Howe of Yes and Asia, in 1986.

The group released the self-titled album GTR, which peaked at No. 11 on the Billboard 200 in the United States and spawned the Top 20 single "When the Heart Rules the Mind". When Hackett left GTR in 1987, the group disbanded.

Hackett then resumed his solo career. He has released albums and toured worldwide on a regular basis since.

On 26th January 2018, Inside Out Music released Wuthering Nights: Live in Birmingham, the new live release from the guitar legend.

Wuthering Nights was filmed at the Birmingham Symphony Hall during Hackett's recent, critically-acclaimed Genesis Revisited & Classic Hackett tour.

Available as Special Edition 2DVD + 2CD Digipak, Blu-Ray, Digital album and Blu-Ray in stereo and surround sound, this is a must-have for any prog fan.

Disc: 1
1. "Every Day"
2. "El Niņo"
3. "The Steppes"
4. "In the Skeleton Gallery"
5. "Behind the Smoke"
6. "Serpentine Song"
7. "Rise Again"
8. "Shadow of the Hierophant"
9. "Eleventh Earl of Mar"

Disc: 2
1. "One for the Vine"
2. "Acoustic Improvisation"
3. "Blood on the Rooftops"
4. "In That Quiet Earth"
5. "Afterglow"
6. "Dance on a Volcano"
7. "Inside and Out"
8. "Firth of Fifth"
9. "The Musical Box"
10. "Los Endos"

DVD 1 - Concert Part 1:
1. "Every Day"
2. "El Nino"
3. "The Steppes"
4. "In the Skeleton Gallery"
5. "Behind the Smoke"
6. "Serpentine Song"
7. "Rise Again"
8. "Shadow of the Hierophant"

Wuthering Nights, Live in Birmingham - Behind the Scenes Documentary (32:32)

DVD 2 - Concert Part 2:
1. "Eleventh Earl of Mar" *
2. "One For the Vine" *
3. "Acoustic Improvisation"
4. "Blood on the Rooftops" *
5. "In That Quiet Earth" *
6. "Afterglow" *
7. "Dance on a Volcano" *
8. "Inside and Out" *
9. "Firth of Fifth" *
10. "The Musical Box" *
11. "Los Endos" *

(* Genesis track)

Official Videos:
Behind the Smoke"
Fifty Miles from the North Pole"
West to East"

Indeed, this tour marked the 40th anniversary of Wind & Wuthering, Hackett's last album with Genesis which reached number 7 in the UK album chart. To celebrate Steve and his band played 5 of the best-loved tracks from this iconic album: "Eleventh Earl Of Mar", "One For The Vine", "Blood On The Rooftops", "In That Quiet Earth" and "Afterglow".

The quietly melodic 'Every Day' begins the live experience and is backed by the raging 'El Niņo', a very cutting edge, sax-backed 'The Steppes', and then both a mid-tempo 'In the Skeleton Gallery' and a delightful 'Behind the Smoke'. 'Serpentine Song' has always been one of my favorite tracks from Hackett's musical history and that's backed by the dulcet 'Rise Again,' the terrifically ambient 'Shadow of the Hierophant,' and the track that ends the first disc, the 'Eleventh Earl of Mar' is, as always, a frenetic organ-backed track.

Out the box first on the second disc is 'Out for the Vine' which is followed seamlessly by some terrific, and rather breathtaking, albeit short at just .34 seconds, 'Acoustic Improvisation.' 'Blood on the Rooftops' is a study in acoustic guitar, and is backed by 'In That Quiet Earth', 'Afterglow', and both 'Dance on a Volcano' and 'Inside and Out.'

The first disc then comes to a close with the simply fantastic, and ten minute long 'Firth of Fifth', before finally rounding out with both the eleven minute long gem 'The Musical Box', and then the guitar powerhouse rockathon on 'Los Endos.'

CD/DVD Purchase Link