Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - '24 Hours To Live'
Artist - Tyler Bates

Make no mistake, '24 Hours To Live' is yet another frenetic, fast-paced soundtrack from uber-composer, Tyler Bates, (Guardians of the Galaxy, John Wick).

Currently a member of Marilyn Manson's touring band, Tyler got 'The Dark Prince' to lend a new unreleased song, 'God's Going to Cut You Down,' as an album only bonus. Indeed, the traditional hymn was popularized by Johnny Cash and Odetta and Marilyn's interpretation is utterly stunning here.

1. Africa Driving (2:54)
2. Check Point Shoot Out (1:25)
3. Mission Explained (5:10)
4. Assassination (2:14)
5. You Have 24 Hours (5:48)
6. Escape (1:49)
7. Bodies Everywhere (3:33)
8. Car Chase (2:07)
9. Sniper (3:35)
10. Brigade Detour (4:57)
11. Protocol (1:33)
12. Red Mountain (1:31)
13. Flashback (2:43)
14. Mass Shooting (1:32)
15. Family (2:02)
16. Crashing and Killing (2:11)
17. Boy Vision (1:28)
18. He Killed Your Wife (5:41)
19. Dying Again (1:33)
20. Godís Gonna Cut You Down (Marilyn Manson) (2:42)

'24 Hours to Live' is the 2017 American-South African science fiction action thriller film directed by Brian Smrz that follows a career assassin (Ethan Hawke) who is brought back to life for 24 hours to seek revenge and redemption.

As you would expect from a film detailed as such and from a composer renowned for his upbeat soundtracks, '24 Hours To Live' is very heavy on the action sequences - running, fighting, car chases, etc.) and so the music is willing obliging at those junctures.

The uplifting, stirring even opener 'Africa Driving' is quickly followed by what is expected throughout, and that's a total all out adrenaline burst of activity ('Check Point Shoot Out'), but then comes the sedate, quite, passive, thoughtful 'Mission Explained'.

And that's how this soundtrack plays out, never really overloading with heavy, fast stuff, moreover serving us a well balanced musical meal of Tyler Bates at his very best; once again, and as usual.

Official CD Purchase Link