Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - Truth Against The World
Artist - The Andy Rothstein Band

For those not in the know, born in Brooklyn, New York, guitarist Andy Rothstein first began playing guitar at age fourteen. Andy graduated from Rutgers University, where he majored in music and Computer Science.

At Rutgers, Andy had the privilege of studying under the tutelage of Kevin Eubanks and the late Ted Dunbar. In addition, he studied privately with both Steve Khan and Vinnie Zummo.

Truth Against The World (out April 1st, 2022) is Andy’s latest release where he has joined forces once again with trumpeter Steve Janowski and bassist Tony Senatore, adding to the ensemble this time drummer Tom Cottone (Randy Brecker), saxophonist Kenny Gioffre (Smokey Robinson), vocalist Audrey Martells (Nile Rodgers and Chic) and keyboardist D Pappas (Smokey Robinson).

1. Perfect Storm (5:00)
2. SDPM (4:40)
3. Blues (5:54)
4. The Witness (6:12)
5. Mystic Mud (4:04)
6. Strum (4:45)
7. Step Out (3:55)
8. Hell Mary (4:24)
9. Funk 7 (4:38)
10. Cab 804 (Samba) (5:36)
11. Truth Against The World (4:48)

This wondrously passionate and wholly vibetastic new album opens on the rhythmic fervency of Perfect Storm and the mid-tempo, Sax-enhanced SDPM and then brings us the gently paced Blues, the salsa-styled grooves of The Witness (featuring Audrey Martells’ vocals), and then comes the free flowing, vibrant, funk-imbibed hipsway of Mystic Mud.

Next up is one of my own personal favorites off this new album, the flourishing Strum which is itself backed seamlessly by the euphorically-charged, percussional blues funk of Step Out, and then Audrey Martells returns for the sultry Hell Mary, before the album rounds out with the aptly-named Funk 7 (and which also allows for some mighty fine soloing to come to the fore), the atmospheric Cab 804 (Samba), coming to a close on the forthright instrumental title track Truth Against The World.

Andy has often been described as a versatile and tasteful player who has developed his unique voice on the guitar. Indeed, part of his unique sound can be attributed to the various electronic modifications he developed for electric guitars.

As a leader, Andy made his debut in 2006 with the album Voodoo Tone, featuring bassist Tony Senatore, trumpeter Steve Jankowski, saxophonist Tom Timko, and drummer Lou Petto.

In 2010, he then teamed up with an all-star lineup of musicians for his next album, Wit of the Staircase, featuring trumpeters Lew Soloff and Steve Janowski, drummer Van Romaine, percussionist Manolo Badrena, saxophonists Andy Snitzer and Tom Timko, and keyboardists Pete Levin and Tom Hammer.

Official Website

The Andy Rothstein Band @ Facebook

The Andy Rothstein Band - Truth Against the World CD - EPK [Official Trailer]

The Andy Rothstein Band - Mystic Mud [Official Video]

The Andy Rothstein Band - Perfect Storm [Official Video]

The Andy Rothstein Band - Step Out [Official Video]

The Andy Rothstein Band - Cab 804 (Samba) [Official Video]