Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - The Devils Staircase
Artist - The Devils Staircase

For those unaware, The Devils Staircase is the instrumental project of Luis Nasser and Tim Mc Caskey from SONUS UMBRA, surrounded by some other very talented and competent musicians.

In a way, it is an extension of SONUS UMBRA music, but slightly, and yet notably different.

An international group of musicians who play rock inspired by math and science, although they would like it known they do not play math rock, ideas from nonlinear dynamics, fractals, cellular automata, and astronomy inspire compositional forms all find they collective way into what the band create and then bring forth.

Indeed, there are many influences here and the fact that the album is all instrumental, did not take anything away from the curiosity for me to discover something (as it turned out) masterfully done by great musicians involved.

1. Gravitation (Parts 1 & 2) (11:11)
2. Rule 34 (4:03)
3. Room 101 (4:03)
4. Morse ..--.. (11:15)
5. Cantors Dust (10:21)

On the self-titled The Devils Staircase, everything you hear is a joyous nod toward old school prog music, in the vein of Mahavishnu, Gentle Giant, Kansas, Jethro Tull, Anglagard, and Anekdoten music alike.

Furthermore, the vintage sound makes the album even more attractive and the prominent sound of bass gives the album an extra depth of charm, of resonance, if you will.

Most of the five tracks are slow to mid-tempo, some building, although none ever soaring, but slow does not mean boring, like a kind of self-indulgent space rock, of that you have my word!

For each track brings a wealth of quite wondrous prog hipsway to the listener, all lovingly encompassing sonic waves and dreamscapes that allow you to tune in and discover new pathways to your very own unique enjoyment to the album.

Aaron Geller / electric guitar
Ramses Luna / saxophone, MIDI wind, electronics
Tim McCaskey / acoustic guitar
Luis Nasser / bass, holophonics
Mattias Olsson / drums, percussion, Mellotron
Edgar ArrellĂ­n Rosas / sound design

Official Purchase Link