Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [April 2023]
  Gotham Knights [David Russo - Composer]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Human Qualities'
Artist - Schapiro 17

For those not in the know, Schapiro 17's debut recording, New Shoes: Kind of Blue at 60, consisted of reworkings of the five selections from Miles Davis' Kind of Blue plus seven of the leader's originals.

A year later, Human Qualities (out March 12th, 2021 via Summit Records) builds upon the earlier album's success with seven new Schapiro compositions plus a fresh rendition of a classic ballad.

1. 'Count on Me'
2. 'Tango'
3. 'Hmmm'
4. 'The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face'
5. 'Human Qualities'
6. 'Hallelujah'
7. 'A Bounce in Her Step'
8. 'House Money'

This upbeat and freshly vibrant new album opens with the perky 'Count Me In' and backs that up with the laid low 'Tango' (which features the baritone work of Matt Hong), the melodic shuffle musings of 'Hmmm' (featuring Andy Gravish and Paul Carlon, on trumpet and tenor respectively) and then we get my own personal favorite, the achingly dulcet tones of 'The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face' (which features Eddie Allen on trumpet).

Next up are the near twelve minute musical brilliances of both the title track 'Human Qualities' and the quintessentially old school, bebop-imbued 'Hallelujah' (featuring some stern tenor and guitar work from Paul Carlon and Sebastian Noelle respectively), then we get the finger-snappin' 'A Bounce In Her Step,' and then it comes to a close on the high top swing of 'House Money' (which features Alex Jeun's forceful trombone work).

Compositions from Jon Schapiro & Ewen MacColl
trumpets: Bryan Davis, Andy Gravish, Eddie Allen, Noyes Bartholomew
trombones: Alex Jeun, Deborah Weisz, Nick Grinder, Walter Harris
saxophones: Rob Wilkerson, Candace DeBartolo, Paul Carlon, Rob Middleton, Matt Hong
piano: Roberta Piket
guitar: Sebastian Noelle
bass: Evan Gregor
drums: Jon Wikan

Digital Purchase Link