Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Twin Barrels Burning' + 'Raw to the Bone'
Artist - Wishbone Ash

For those not in the know, Wishbone Ash are a British rock band who achieved success in the early and mid-1970s and their popular albums included Wishbone Ash (1970), Pilgrimage (1971), Argus (1972), There's the Rub (1974), and New England (1976).

Wishbone Ash are noted for their extensive use of the harmony twin lead guitar format which had been attracting electric blues bands since Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page had played together in the Yardbirds in 1966.

Their contributions helped Andy Powell and Ted Turner to be voted "Two of the Ten Most Important Guitarists in Rock History" (Traffic magazine 1989), and to appear in the "Top 20 Guitarists of All Time" (Rolling Stone).

Melody Maker (1972) described Powell and Turner as "the most interesting two guitar team since the days when Beck and Page graced The Yardbirds" and they have been cited as an influence by Iron Maiden founder and bassist Steve Harris, as well as Thin Lizzy and other dual guitar bands.

What we have here are two brand new and expanded 2CD editions of their 1982 and 1985 albums respectively. Released this past February 9th, 2018, via the Cherry Red Records (UK) label, their fans are treated to Twin Barrels Burning: Deluxe Edition and Raw To The Bone: Deluxe Edition.

Twin Barrels Burning was their 12th studio album. Recorded at Sol Studios and released in 1982 it was the highest charting Wishbone Ash album in years, reaching No. 22 in the UK.

In fact, it was the only Wishbone Ash album to feature Uriah Heep bassist Trevor Bolder, who was a member of the band for three years (198183).

Bolder, ex-David Bowie and Uriah Heep, actually replaced the late John Wetton, who then went on and formed supergroup Asia.

As for this album in question, again produced by the legendary Nigel Gray, I personally (as I'm sure a lot of us fans did at the time) bought it solely for the song 'Engine Overheat.' A knock out of a song, other strong tracks were both 'Geneviere' and 'Me And My Guitar.'

CD 1:
1. 'Engine Overheat'
2. 'Can't Fight Love'
3. 'Genevieve'
4. 'Me and My Guitar'
5. 'Hold On'
6. 'Streets of Shame'
7. 'No More Lonely Nights'
8. 'Angels Have Mercy'
9. 'Wind Up'
Bonus Tracks
10. 'Cat and Dog Fight'
11. 'Go for the Gold'
12. 'Night Hawker'

CE 2 - The American Remixes
1. 'Engine Overheat'
2. 'Can't Fight Love'
3. 'No More Lonely Nights'
4. 'Wind Up'
5. 'Streets of Shame'
6. 'My Guitar'
7. 'Hold On'
8. 'Genevieve'
9. 'Angels Have Mercy'

Also included are three bonus tracks from the Twin Barrels Burning session on the first disc and The American Remixes on the second disc. This Deluxe Edition also includes liner notes by rock journalist Dave Ling and has been digitally remastered.

Raw to the Bone was, of course, their 13th album and was the only Wishbone Ash album to feature Mervyn Spence on bass and vocals. It is also the last album with guitarist/vocalist Laurie Wisefield, who ended his eleven-year stint with Wishbone Ash after the release of this album.

As for the album itself, the guys pull out all the stops here. Instead of the elongated and dull workouts of early releases - like Argus - this set of tunes find the band getting straight to the point.

Indeed, all these songs have some heft, the guitar work is rather cool, and the band fill the sound spectrum more fully. Personal favs would include lead cut, 'Cell of Fame,' which touches on the pitfalls of success, with 'Rocket In My Pocket' being slightly funky, and 'Don't You Mess' having a really pleasant, unexpected groove to it.<> For my money, this is perhaps the most accessible Wishbone Ash studio album and that means it's perhaps a good place to start for the newcomer.

CD 1:
1. 'Cell of Fame'
2. 'People in Motion'
3. 'Don't Cry'
4. 'Love in Blue'
5. 'Long Live the Night'
6. 'Rocket in My Pocket'
7. 'It's Only Love'
8. 'Don't You Mess'
9. 'Dreams (Searching for An Answer)'
10. 'Perfect Timing'
Bonus Tracks
11. 'She's Still Alive'
12. 'Apocalypso' (The 1986 Sessions)
13. 'Valley of Tears' (The 1986 Sessions)
14. 'Nkomo' (The 1986 Sessions)
15. 'Talk to Me' (The 1986 Sessions)

CD 2 - Raw To The Bone at the BBC
1. 'Long Live the Night' (Friday Rock Show, 5th July 1985)
2. 'Cell of Fame' (Friday Rock Show, 5th July 1985)
3. 'Love in Blue' (Friday Rock Show, 5th July 1985)
4. 'People in Motion' (Friday Rock Show, 5th July 1985)
5. 'Living Proof' (Hammersmith, 9th December 1985)
6. 'Cell of Fame' (Hammersmith, 9th December 1985)
7. 'King Will Come' (Hammersmith, 9th December 1985)
8. 'Blowin' Free' (Hammersmith, 9th December 1985)

The bonus tracks on the first disc include a holy grail for Wishbone Ash fans - all four unreleased songs from the post-album 1986 sessions. Whereas the second disc houses various cuts recorded from their Raw To The Bone at the BBC sessions.

The album also includes liner notes by rock journalist Dave Ling and the music has been digitally remastered.

It should also be noted that both these reissue's have been fully approved by Steve Upton, Laurie Wisefield, Andy Powell, Merv Spence and the estate of Trevor Bolder.

'Twin Barrels Burning' 2CD Purchase Link

'Twin Barrels Burning' Limited Edition 12" Picture Disc Vinyl Purchase Link

'Raw To The Bone' 2CD Purchase Link

'Raw To The Bone' Limited Edition 12" Picture Disc Vinyl Purchase Link

Wishbone Ash @ Facebook!