Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  'The Battle For The Soul of King Russ-ankhamun'
  Save Ferris [2016]
  Richard Hawley [2016]
  Moobs "The Canary" Dingus [2016]
  Racey [2016]
  Living In A Box [2016]
  Driver 67 (Paul Phillips) (2016)
  Jeff Scott Soto (2016)
  NEW! Midge Ure (2017)
  NEW! Rusty Egan (2017)
  NEW! Mahershala Ali ('Moonlight')
  NEW! Brad Pitt ('War Machine')
  NEW! Richard Gere ('Norman')
  NEW! the Judds
  NEW! Billy Ocean [2017]
  NEW! Glam Skanks [2017]
  Sony Legacy Black Friday Record Store Day 2017
  Cory Hardrict ('Destined')
  Mo McRae ('Destined')


Title - 'The Focus Family Album' [2CD]
Artist - Focus

For those not in the know, Focus are a Dutch rock band formed in Amsterdam in 1969 by keyboardist, vocalist, and flautist Thijs van Leer.

The band have undergone numerous formations in its history; since December 2016 it has comprised van Leer, drummer Pierre van der Linden, guitarist Menno Gootjes, and bassist Udo Pannekeet.

Other important members include guitarist Jan Akkerman and bassist Bert Ruiter. They have sold one million RIAA-certified albums in the United States.

Known around the world for its iconic albums, including the hits HOCUS POCUS, SYLVIA and HOUSE OF THE KING, this brand new 2CD collection The Focus Family Album, out now via In And Out Of Focus Records / Cherry Red Records, includes both band tracks and two solo tracks by each current member.

CD 1:
1. 'Nature Is Our Friend' - Thijs Van Leer
2. 'Song for Eva' - Focus
3. 'Riverdance' - Pierre Van Der Linden
4. 'Victoria' - Focus
5. 'Two-Part Intervention' - Menno Gootjes
6. 'Mosh Blues' - Focus
7. 'Raga Reverence 1' - Swung
8. 'The Fifth Man' - Focus
9. 'Song for Yaminah' - Udo Pannekeet
10. 'Claire Obscure' - Focus

CD 2:
1. 'Let Us Wander?' - Thijs Van Leer
2. 'Birds Come Fly Over (Le Tango)' - Focus
3. 'Spiritual Swung' - Pierre Van Der Linden
4. 'Santa Teresa' - Focus
5. 'Hazel' - Menno Gootjes
6. 'Fine Without You' - Focus
7. 'Raga Reverence 5' - Swung
8. 'Five Fourth' - Focus
9. 'Anaya' - Udo Pannekeet
10. 'Winnie' - Focus

Inclusive of a total of 15 previously-unreleased tracks or alternate versions, The Focus Family Album is just the most perfect musical gift for all fans of their music. The 20 track set gives fans new insight into the band and yet still allows for that well-known, and alluring sound of theirs to lull you into the most perfect of comfortable mind palaces.

There's just something about the band that makes all their music so lushly inviting. Focus - Thijs Van Leer / Hammond organ, flute, vocoder, vocals; Pierre Van der Linden / drums, bass drum, percussion; Menno Gootjes / guitars; Swung; AND new bass player Udo Pannekeet - are a group that ooze talent throughout their ranks and so that makes their solo contributions to this album as gorgeous as the classics.

The Focus Family Album features artwork by Roger Dean and is being released to coincide with the band's South American and European tour dates. Readying themselves for that tour, they will go out in support of this release and the forthcoming new studio album, Focus 11.

2CD Purchase Link