Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - A Private Heaven (Deluxe Edition) [2CD]
Artist - Sheena Easton

For those not in the know, Sheena Eastonís platinum-plus 1984 EMI album A Private Haven has now been remastered from the original master tapes and is releasing as a 2CD special edition on March 8th, 2022 (via Cherry Red Records, UK).

Inclusive of the Grammy-nominated Strut and Prince-penned smash Sugar Walls, and released in association with RT Industries, this Deluxe Edition 2CD set now contains a massive 21 bonus tracks; featuring 12Ē mixes, B-sides and 12 previously-unreleased tracks: Have You Ever Been In Love and the longer ĎRomaní Version of Sugar Walls.

CD 1 Ė A Private Heaven + 12Ē Mixes
1. Strut
2. Sugar Walls
3. Hungry Eyes
4. Hard To Say Itís Over
5. Swear
6. Love And Affection
7. Back In The City
8. You Make Me Nervous
9. All By Myself
10. Double Standard
11. Strut (Dance Mix)
12. Sugar Walls (Dance Mix)
13. Swear (Dance Mix)
14. Strut (Dub Mix)
15. Sugar Walls (Red Mix)
16. Swear (Dub Mix)

As part of Cherry Redís on-going reissue campaign of the starís EMI catalogue, this 2CD Deluxe Edition of 1984ís new wave-orientated A Private Heaven represents Sheena Eastonís US commercial peak, with material ranging from edgy rocker Swear to show-stopping power ballad Hard To Say Itís Over.

Furthermore, the aforementioned #1 Dance hit Strut and Top three R&B success of Sugar Walls resulted in her being the only artist in US history to score Top three hits in each of Billboardís main charts: Hot 100, R&B, Dance, AC and Country.

As a whole though, and taking on a notably sexier stance whilst wetting her feet in slightly funkier repertoire, A Private Heaven expands a good deal on Eastonís trademark light pop.

As discussed, the lively Strut and the provocative, Prince-penned Sugar Walls serve as two of the setís strongest offerings, and where the snappy, jazzy Back in the City and memorable ballad Hard to Say Itís Over are not instantly as catchy, ultimately (and after repetitive listening) they most definitely are just as strong.

Filler syndrome is not escaped entirely, but isnít in excess, making this a desirable addition to Easton collections, in my humble opinion, and now here complete with en masse of delightful flashback 12Ē mixes and remixes galore, well, this is most definitely the cherry on the cake for this recorded album and the singles that came from it.

CD 2 Ė B-Sides / Studio Sessions / Instrumentals
1. Letters From The Road [B-Sides]
2. Straight Talking [B-Sides]
3. Fallen Angels [B-Sides]
4. Have You Ever Been In Love [The Studio Sessions]*
5. Hungry Eyes (Alternate Version) [The Studio Sessions]*
6. Hard To Say Itís Over (Alternate Version) [The Studio Sessions]*
7. Sugar Walls (Long ĎRomaní Version) [The Studio Sessions]*
8. Strut (Instrumental Mix) *
9. Love And Affection (Instrumental Mix) *
10. Hungry Eyes (Instrumental Mix) *
11. All By Myself (Instrumental Mix) *
12. Back In The City (Instrumental Mix) *
13. Hard To Say Itís Over (Instrumental Mix) *
14. Straight Talking (Instrumental Mix) *
15. In It To Win It (Instrumental Mix) *
*Previously unreleased track

This wonderous 2CD set also comes with a colorful 24-page booklet which includes rare photography and new interviews with producer Greg Mathieson, songwriters Charlie Dore, Robbie Nevil and more by ex-Attitude editor Adam Mattera.

Official 2CD Purchase Link