Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Elise Krentzel (Author, Under My Skin)
  Nicolas Cage [The Unbearable Weight ...]
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [November 2022]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Recorded Live At Waterloo Ice House'
Artist - Uncle Waltís Band

For those who didn't hear it the first time, ďThe best band in town was Uncle Waltís Band Thatís what Jimmie Dale Gilmore remembers about the trio of Walter Hyatt, Champ Hood, and David Ball circa 1980.

Originally released as a private pressing in 1982 on the bandís own Lespedeza label, Recorded Live was a document of their legendary shows at Waterloo Ice House in Austin, Texas.

While those shows began around 9:30 p.m. and often continued past 2 a.m., only 14 tracks recorded over four nights were made available to share the magic of the three virtuoso singers and players.

Now, after releasing the anthology and expanded versions of their self-titled debut and its follow-up, An American in Texas, Omnivore Recordings will present a re-imagined version of Recorded Live ó now titled Recorded Live at Waterloo Ice House (street date for CD and Digital is February 5th, 2021).

The collection has been expanded to 21 tracks, with seven songs from the original release, four previously unissued alternate takes, and a whopping ten previously unissued performances.

The new package features photos, ephemera, new liner notes from Peter Blackstock (music writer for the Austin American-Statesman), and restoration and mastering from Grammyģ-winning engineer Michael Graves.

1. 'If I Donít Stop Crying'
2. 'Mock, Mock, Mockingbird'
3. 'Love Has Laid Me Down'
4. 'Stagger Lee'
5. 'Since I Fell For You'
6. 'Honest Papas Love Their Mamas Better'
7. 'Bye, Bye Baby'
8. 'Motor City Man'
9. 'The More I See You'
10. 'Desiree'
11. 'I Gotta Know'
12. 'What Have You Done With My Love'
13. 'Iím Going To Break My Heart In Two'
14. 'Snowing Me Under'
15. 'Country Boy'
16. 'Lose Me Baby'
17. 'Eddieís Girl'
18. 'Georgia Rose'
19. 'Diggaroo'
20. 'Just A Little Understanding'
21. 'Early Morning Love'

Opening on the delightfully harmonic 'If I Donít Stop Crying,' they back that up seamlessly with 'Mock, Mock, Mockingbird,' the beautiful ballad 'Love Has Laid Me Down,' a very unique rendition of 'Stagger Lee,' and then we get the yearning of 'Since I Fell For You' and the pop guitar bounce of 'Honest Papas Love Their Mamas Better.'

Next up is the lush hipsway of 'Bye, Bye Baby,' which is in turn backed by the mid-tempo 'Motor City Man,' the upbeat 'The More I See You,' the orchestrated magnificence of 'Desiree,' the fervent 'I Gotta Know' and then the forlorn wonderings of 'What Have You Done With My Love' is brought forth.

One of my own personal favorites is up next in the shape of the foot-tappin' 'Iím Going To Break My Heart In Two,' which is followed by the laid back flow of 'Snowing Me Under,' the quietly-paced jaunt 'Country Boy,' the buoyant 'Lose Me Baby,' and then we get another great track within the melodic sway of 'Eddieís Girl.'

Up next is the quietly strident 'Georgia Rose' and the upbeat 'Diggaroo,' with the album rounding out on the rhythmically acoustic, lo-fi pop semblance of 'Just A Little Understanding,' closing on the finger-snappin' delicacy 'Early Morning Love.'

Official Recorded Live At Waterloo Ice House: Expanded CD Purchase Link

Omnivore Uncle Walt's Band Live At Waterloo Ice House Trailer